Crock Pot Meal Plan Recipe Review: Salsa Chicken

The next recipe we tried was Salsa Chicken. This might be the easiest of the recipes.   Salsa Chicken

  • 2-3 pounds boneless skinless chicken thighs/breasts
  • 1 15oz jar of your favorite salsa
  • 1 can sweet corn drained & rinsed [I used frozen]
  • 1 can black beans drained & rinsed
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic

To serve, you can serve as is or shred.   What did we think? I’d give it 3 stars. 3-stars-out-of-5 But here’s the thing. I don’t really like chicken very much. I know, who doesn’t like chicken? I actually don’t mind chicken thighs, or fried chicken or other fatty chicken. I just find chicken breasts generally very unappealing. So keep that in mind as I review the chicken recipes.

I used a combination of breasts and thighs for all of the recipes because of our divided household. The Knight prefers chicken breasts.

The first night I shredded the chicken and served it over tortilla chips (I know, not terribly healthy, but I just wasn’t feeling like eating straight chicken). I added some grated cheddar, along with the corn and black beans and some of the juice from the crock pot.

IMG_0346.JPG

The second night I served it over brown rice with salad. I liked it better, but I’m not sure why.

IMG_0350.JPG

For lunch on the third day I put it in a tortilla with brown rice and cheese. This was my favorite of the three options.

The Knight wasn’t home to enjoy this. The Little Prince liked it just fine.

This made a ton so I wound up freezing three big bowls full for later, with one bowl for the next day’s dinner/lunch. I think this would be great over salad or rice, or in a tortilla.

What do you have to say?

