Crock Pot Meal Plan Recipe Review: Beef Stew

The first recipe we cooked up was the beef stew. We skipped the freezer step, so I don’t exactly know how the raw potatoes would have done in the freezer (I will report back).

Here is the recipe:

 BEEF STEW

  • 2 pounds beef stew meat
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 20 small red potatoes cut in ½ or ¼
  • 6 carrots, chopped [add more]
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 12 oz tomato paste
  • 1 cup low sodium beef broth

Directions:

Put meat, flour & spices in the gallon freezer bag first & toss together to coat meat. Dump in rest of the ingredients & seal bag.

********

The verdict? I’d give in 3.5 stars (out of 5). 

3-5-stars

It is a winner. All three of us enjoyed it. The flavor was good, but not fantastic. It needs something… I am going to experiment and see if I can improve it.

The beef came out super tender. The chunks (from Costco) were a bit large for me to eat without cutting.

As for quantity, this made enough for the three of us for dinner, plus three big bowls more. It probably would have fed us for two more dinners/lunches.

The recipe that I made was low on potatoes and carrots for my liking so the recipe I posted doubled the veggies in the recipe I posted.

If you make this, please let me know how you like it (and if you have any suggestions for zipping up the flavor). Enjoy!

 

What do you have to say?

