Training Update

So, here I am, about 3 months away from Musselman (half iron distance) and I have given myself a little kick in the rear. Balancing family, work and training is not easy but it is doable. That’s what I keep telling myself. I am determined to make it happen. Although I won’t be training at the level I was previously, where I usually nailed all 10 of the scheduled workouts each week, I am doing the best I can.

Right now, what that looks like this this:

  • Mondays: afternoon (lunch hour) lift plus an evening run (that I lead for the team)
  • Tuesdays: afternoon session on the spin bike at my gym; evening swim at the gym near my house
  • Wednesdays: run (usually speed work)
  • Thursdays: abbreviated spin 2-25 min (due to time constraints) and lift
  • Fridays: rest or makeup day
  • Saturdays: long run
  • Sundays: ride

A far cry from typical week 5 years ago, when I was training for Ironman.

This past weekend I got out on my bike for the first time in…a LONG time. I can’t even remember when the last time was. There was a 20 miler some time last fall and then ill-fated 4 mile ride some time in December of January where is started pouring so we took Max home immediately.  Fortunately I have been putting in time on the spin bike and on my trainer. By time I mean usually 30-45 minutes, but it is something.

But I am on track this week and I’m excited about it. I am hoping to keep it up for a while, at least until the Knight’s next overseas trip. I need a strategy for getting in the workouts while I’m solo. It is hard because Max was a disaster with the gym childcare when I tried to take him – he may be better now. I am not ready to pull him in the trailer on my bike. So when we’re solo I can run and I can run. And if I am very disciplined I can spin when he naps or goes to bed at night but there is so much else to do that it almost never happens.

I am happy to say that I did 27 miles on the bike and felt great during and after. I rode with a friend for the first part and then rode with the Knight and the little Prince for the second half. The little Prince likes the trailer but yells “No!” when we hit a bump. He’ll get used to it. On Monday we can home and he pointed to Oli’s bike and said “Bike!” I asked him who’s bike it was and he thought for a second and said “Dada!” I asked him who rides in that – pointing the trailer and he said “Ma!” which meant Max. So cute.

I did get back in the pool last night after a couple of weeks off. I wasn’t pretty but it was way better than nothing. I am proud of myself for getting back to it.

I got speed work done this week (tiny little speed intervals, but speedy nonetheless). I lifted twice (one day was legs/back/bicpes; one day was chest/shoulders/triceps).

I am hoping that this momentum will continue and I will make good progress going forward. It will get done. I will finish. It might not be glorious but I have done it before and will do it again.

20140417-150646.jpg

What do you have to say?

