Thursday Thirteen (Again)

Hi there! Thanks for the great comments and emails in response to my last Thurs13. I received encouragement on a variety of things as well as a ball chair recommendation. Woo hoo!

More randomness to share this week.

  1. I have a new iPad – the Air. I had been using my iPad with a broken screen for the last 3 months. Santa brought me a replacement. Long story but I just got it up and running this week. Holy cow! It is a whole new world. I am pretty excited about the new retina screen, the speed, and the lighter/smaller design.
  2. Speaking of Christmas, it was pretty obvious that my family knows my sweets preference. There was definitely a theme. I have always been a big fan of peanut butter filled pretzels, and I couldn’t believe that the Knight found dark chocolate covered ones. O! M! G! My sister bought my Justin’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups, which are on par with my favorite Trader Joe’s ones. Good thing I’m back on track with training.
  3. Back to the iPad thing. I discovered a new app that I am really excited about. I have been a huge fan of Evernote for years. Recently my biggest use is to store recipes. Well, whadayaknow. They now have an Evernote Food app. So far it is wonderful. It even automatically imported my recipes from my Evernote account and made a cookbook. Seriously cool stuff!
  4. February means two weeks without the Knight. Fortunately the weeks are spaced, but I am still not too happy about it. We do fine when he is away but he is seriously missed by both of us and it is just plain hard to solo parent. Hats off to the single and military mommas!
  5. For the past year or so I’ve been indulging myself in 5-10 minutes in the sauna after my workouts. This is as close as I get to meditation and I feel so great afterwards. Why did I
  6. We really want to become a “no shoes in the house” family but we just haven’t gotten there yet. I think the biggest obstacle is figuring out how to store our shoes downstairs or figuring out what to do if we want to continue keeping them in our bedroom closets.
  7. I recently made a big change to my hair, which pretty much no one noticed. 🙂 I stop highlighting it and started just dying it back to it’s natural light brown color. The salon is using a demi-permanent color which is less damaging. There is TON of grey on this head. For real.
  8. My mind is swirling with a long to-do list of relatively non-urgent items. I’ve written them down but it only helps a little. It is worst at night when I am trying to sleep.
  9. The biggest items on that list are 1) find a good accountant (my previous attempts have been unsuccessful); and 2) set up a 529 account for Max (we have a savings account but we need to get a 529. I can’t decide which one). I just need to do it.
  10. After being reminded of the 3 am wakeups involved in the Goofy and Dopey challenge, we are leaning towards the Wine & Dine for our next Disney race.
  11. Pie Night is coming! I’m so excited to be able to eat this year (although the fabulous Bob the Pie Man was incredibly kind to make me my own Chicken Pot Pie last year. Love that man!) If you’re not a friend of Bob’s and you want to attend, let me know. And if you’re a friend of Bob’s and you don’t get an invite by late February – oops. Let us know. 🙂
  12. I am seriously looking forward to Spring (and Summer, and Fall). How many more days? Not a fan of Winter.
  13. It was hard for me to come up with 13 things this week.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zina
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 14:17:44

    Oooh, maybe I’ll do a proper cherry pie this year then. Or a mince pie. Mmmmmm pie. Or an applie pie with a gingerbread crust.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

