Hello 2014!

Am I the only one who is a bit shocked by the arrival of the new year? I mean, we saw it coming, but now it is here and…wow! Just like that. 

I, for one, and excited about the new year. 2013 was a really good year and I expect 2014 will be even better. I’m not one for resolutions but I do enjoy the fresh start and the refocusing that come with turning the page on the proverbial calendar.

What lies ahead in 2014?

  • Change: I am continuing to think hard about how I want my life to look. I’m not exactly sure where I’m headed but I feel empowered to make some changes. Sorry to be so vague, but most of these changes pertain to the work front. That is no big surprise to anyone who knows me. It all comes down to wanting more time with my guys and less worrying about work.
  • Food: I used to cook a lot. I would pull out my cookbooks on Saturday morning and enjoy the meal planning process. Grocery shopping was a fun weekend activity and cooking was so satisfying. Now I feel like I am constantly wondering what we’re going to eat and it is a source of stress. Time to fix that. I’m not sure how, but I am going to work on it.
  • Blogging: I want to blog more. I enjoy recording my thoughts and sharing them. I really enjoy re-reading my old posts, and I like that some of my friends stay informed via this blog. It has been so hard to make the time to do this lately (and by lately, I mean the past 16 months). Frankly, I am so exhausted by the time I finish the day that all I want to do is prepare for the next day and get to bed as soon as I can. I am going to try to focus on posting more regularly, even if I am just recording a cute memory or thought.
  • Fitness: While my frequency of workouts has dramatically decreased since becoming a mom, I am happy to say that I’ve managed to be pretty consistent about getting exercise. It is really the most important thing I can do for myself mentally and physically.  A good week these days means I’ve worked out at least4- 5 times – a far cry from the old standard of nailing all 10 weekly workouts. This year will include my return to the world of triathlon – including both a sprint and a half ironman tri. (Rock Hall Sprint and Musselman Half are officially on the calendar.) Honestly, this is due more to peer pressure than desire, so we will see how it goes. 
  • Arbonne: As many of you know, I recently launched my Arbonne business. If you don’t know, Arbonne makes natural skin care, cosmetic, nutrition and baby items. I am really excited about the products and am happy to share them with my friends and family. Not wanting to “bug” or “sell to” people is an obstacle, so please tell me if you’d like to hear more. The products are awesome and free from all of the chemicals and junk that is in so many commercial products.
  • Perspective: I think we all need to maintain our perspective on how our “problems” stack up in the big picture. It is so easy to get worked up about things (most recently, the holidays and all of the present purchasing/wrapping/shipping madness that entails). One of my most favorite friends recently received a cancer diagnosis. I think about her all day, every day. When I find myself stressing about the unimportant things I am lucky enough to be able to worry about I stop myself and try to remember where it all fits in the scheme of things.

I feel incredibly grateful that my focus for 2014 is on such truly insignificant things. We are so fortunate to have health, love, employment, security and all of the other essentials.  The rest we’ll just figure out 🙂

Wishing you all a fabulous year full of health, happiness and overall greatness.

With love,

Cat

What do you have to say?

