Nike Women’s Half Marathon Race Report

I know you’re surprised. It’s a race report. From me. It has been a while, I know. But, hey, I raced, so I will report.

This was my third race since becoming a mom. My first was a 5k last October. It was cold (30-something degrees) and I raced with the stroller. Not just any stroller, but the snap and go, which is not at all designed for racing. Heck, it is just passable for walking. But Max was just two months old and he wasn’t ready for the running stroller just yet. I can’t believe I did that. There was even an off road portion, which had me struggling just to walk. There was no way I was running over grass and gravel with that stroller frame.

Last month I ran the Rock and Roll Half Marathon. That was a whole other story. To make a long story short, it was after a week from hell (daycare issues, the Knight was away for 3 weeks, work was stressful). Until the day before I didn’t know whether I would even show up or not. I couldn’t figure out how to work the logistics with pumping and such. I finally decided just to go for it. I had no goals other than crossing the finish line. I accomplished my goal and was very proud of myself for not quitting before ever getting to the starting line.

Fast forward to this weekend. I decided that I didn’t want to “race” the Nike Half, but instead I would run for fun. I chose to run with a friend. She was going for a PR (personal record) and I wanted to try to get her there.

So together we ran the 13.1 miles through the streets of DC. You could not have asked for more perfect weather. It was beautiful. I helped my friend set a PR by over 15 minutes.

The race itself was a mixed bag. There were some kinks that come with it being the inaugural race. The corrals were jam-packed – to the point that you couldn’t actually even get into the corrals because they were so full. I’m not sure why Nike didn’t anticipate this, but hopefully next year will be better. On a related note, the course was seriously congested. Had I been trying to snag a PR I would have been more upset, but I just relaxed and kept running.

My little cheerleader!

Nike pre-raceOverall, I think Nike did a good job putting on this race. I was particularly impressed with the “Expotique” which featured free makeovers from Bare Escentuals, free sign making from Luna, and a lot of samples.

The course was a great tour of downtown DC. For me it was familiar territory, which was nice. The starting line was right near my office. I imagine it was also nice for visitors as we ran by the monuments, over the memorial bridge, and past the Capitol.

I admit that a big motivator for me to do this race was the race medal. Or rather, that the medal was actually a Tiffany necklace. It is a nice memento. I also like the finisher’s shirt.

Photo Credit: Priscilla (“PDiddy”)

;

Nike Half

With Janene around Mile 9
Photo Credit: Joe

All in all, it was a good race. I feel so blessed to be able to go out and run 13 miles like it is nothing. The last time I ran longer than 4-5 miles was 6 weeks ago for the Rock and Roll Half, so I didn’t know what to expect this weekend. I would definitely do the Nike Half again next year. Then again, these things always sound like a good idea when the weather is nice. But sometime around January I start questioning why I sign up for Spring races. Winter training is hard. For that matter, so is summer training. Heck, all training is hard. But we love it, don’t we?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PDiddy
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:45:29

    Wish I got to see you at the race. Hmmm…maybe the next time you want to run for “fun” I should have you pace me to a PR too. 😉 Your blog reminded me about something I was thinking on Sunday about DC races and what we often take for granted. I think with all the TNT teams, this race in particular had a lot of racers visiting from all over the US. It was fun seeing so many runners take pics at different landmarks and even a lot stopped to take pics of the few blossom trees at Haines Point. 🙂

    Reply

    • Catharine
      May 01, 2013 @ 05:50:45

      I can’t believe I missed you. I didn’t even know you were racing. I totally agree about appreciating our fine city. I tend do be a bit of a Pollyanna when it comes to tourists…I try to remind myself of how lucky we are to live somewhere that people want to visit. It helps me cope with the flood of oblivious people who get in my way when I am running.

      BTW, in would love to run with you sometime. Just tell me your goal and how hard to push you and we will make it fun.

      Reply

  2. Jennifer
    May 01, 2013 @ 07:50:52

    Congrats! I really want to do this race next year even though I’ve never done more than a 5K. I can’t wait to start training again!

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    May 05, 2013 @ 10:33:43

    It’s so hard to get back in after stop for a while…you are a tough girl..still going 🙂 Congratulations!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

