Running Love

It is no secret that I am finding being a new(ish), working mom a challenge. It is also a challenge being solo for one to three weeks per month when the Knight travels. It is important to me to be honest about both the ups AND the downs.

So here’s some honesty for you. I believe that if I didn’t exercise I might be on antidepressants right now.

I am a totally different person than I was before. I still haven’t figured out if it is hormones, exhaustion, or what. I don’t think I have post partum depression. But I do feel like I have very severe mood swings, and tend to be very emotional these days.

Even though I feel like I don’t have time, or much motivation, I force myself to workout at least 4 days per week. I try to do more but some weeks four times is the most I can do. (A far cry from Ironman training, eh?) I am so fortunate that I have a gym in my office building and I am able to make it work.

Monday was a tough day. Between daylight savings time and a baby that stopped sleeping well, this momma was beat. I was tired, weepy and stressed.

Then I went for a run.

And I started thinking.

Good thoughts.

Endorphin-enduced thoughts.

About how lucky I am to have a beautiful, healthy baby.

…And a totally wonderful husband.

…And health.

…And a job.

Et cetera, et cetera.

When I got back, I felt like myself again. Like my sane, stable, capable self.

I thought of the sticker I’ve seen that says “Running is my Prozac.” Seriously. If I didn’t run, I think I would be a mess.  

I wish I could spread the word. I believe that my positive response to running, and any exercise for that matter,  is probably pretty common.

So get out there and do it. You won’t regret it.  I know, I’m preaching to the choir.

therapy_magrunning drug

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer N.
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 20:14:16

    Yep. What you said. I didn’t get anything done today and I am a miserable grouch.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

