Thursday Thirteen

I love this Thursday Thirteen concept. Here is my list of randomness for this week:

1. I have three pregnant coworkers and several pregnant friends. I am so excited for them!

2. I am so glad Max is here and he truly brightens every day, but there is something I miss about my baby bump and those ‘easy’ days of pregnancy.

3. Thanks to LT’s food sensitivities and my decision to continue exclusively breastfeeding, I am currently the lightest I have been in over 10 years. While it sounds like every woman’s dream – to lose the pregnancy weight and then some – it is really not so great. More about that in a later post.

4. My tummy and chest are bigger (for obvious reasons) but the rest of me, especially my face, is thinner. Sometimes I practically don’t recognize myself.

5. Last weekend I did a 13.5 mile run. It HURT! It was probably the slowest training run I’ve ever done but I am so incredibly proud of myself for getting it done despite the many obstacles.

6. I’d love to do a triathlon this year, but it just isn’t in the cards.

7. Work is sucking these days. For so many reasons. I have three cases it the middle of litigation at the moment. That said, today was significantly less crappy. I found out I won a motion in one case and one of my clients in another case said “I’m so glad you’re our lawyer. You’re fabulous.” So maybe I won’t quit.

8. Balancing work and pumping (breastfeeding) is way harder than I anticipated. I’m getting it done. However, pumping is the bane of my existence right now.

9. Confession: It only looks like I am on a roll with the blog posts. I had one big bout of inspiration and wrote everything down. I’ve been merely editing and publishing this week. Don’t get used to it 🙂

10. The Knight is about to leave for an 18-day trip. I know I can handle it, but I am not looking forward to it.

11. The story about the car going over the Memorial Bridge Sunday night didn’t phase me until I read a related story about how to get you AND YOUR KID out of a drowning vehicle. I think I’m going to have nightmares about this.

12. The sequestration is coming. Looks like I will be getting some unpaid days off. It means more Max time so to be honest I am not that unhappy about it. I consider myself so extremely fortunate that this will not devastate us financially. I am so sad about the impact this will have on those who are less fortunate.

13. The other day I heard the expression (is it an expression?) “What would you do if you know you couldn’t fail?” and I’ve been thinking about it a lot. What do you say to that question?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 21:17:04

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while after finding it looking for pregnant triathlete related blogs. I’m at 30 weeks and also a lawyer and very panicky about how breastfeeding/pumping is going to work out. Would you mind direct email contact with a total stranger so that I could get specific info from you? I’m getting very nervous about this aspect of things (never mind all of the others).

    Reply

  2. Liz
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 16:36:00

    I’ve been enjoying your posts this week! I know you’re swamped at work but if you feel like grabbing a “birthday” lunch sometime this month let me know :).

    Reply

What do you have to say?

