The Beginning

I really should be sleeping. It was a rough day today and the little guy finally went down. Instead, I will get started on Max’s birth story…

It was the morning of August 6 (i was due 8/9) and the Knight was driving me to the metro. Something felt, ummm, different. I felt…wet. Not soaked, just like I had started the heaviest period ever. When I got out of the car I noticed that my dress was damp. Ewww. So I did what any rational pregnant woman would do: I went to the bathroom to put in a pantiliner. Good thinking, right?

Since I got that all squared away I then went and got on a train and went to the office. I did call the knight to give him a heads up that something was amiss. I then called my midwife’s office and spoke to the head nurse. I described exactly what was going on…a steady but small flow of clear liquid. She told me not to worry and that it was my mucus plug (I won’t go into this, but it is a normal thing that happens before you give birth).

That didn’t sound right to me, but she insisted that it was normal and that it just meant that labor was imminent. Well, yeah…my due date was just 3 days away. Okay.

I suspected it was more than that, but hey, I was new to this. So I trusted her. I hung out at the office all day, changing pads every 20-30 minutes or so. I had no other symptoms other than this so I figured I might as well finish out the work day. Brilliant, huh?

To be continued…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sally
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 21:30:06

    A dutiful employee! Good thing you had the pads handy!

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 09:45:28

    We can blame those old wives tales about the “water breaking” – as though the contents of the Grand Coulee Dam will come gushing down onto us in the middle of the produce aisle at the grocery store. Yeah, not so much…

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 22:55:40

    Glad to see you are back in action on the blog! 🙂 It is HARD to keep up with a blog when you are keeping up with a little one! Can’t wait to hear the rest of Max’s birthday story! He is such a beatiful baby!!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

