Thursday Thirteen

1)      Hooray! I got the cortisone shots and they worked. They hurt like hell for about 5 minutes, with intense burning in the palms of my hands and my first two fingers. But eventually it subsided. Hand pain no longer keeps me up at night. I can make fists. And hold things. I still have numbness in my fingertips but I am fine with that. It is probably a little residual nerve damage that will heal gradually over time.

2)      Today is officially the 38-week mark. It is so exciting! It could really be any day now. It is so surreal!

3)      Back when my friend Mary was at this point, I did a little research on statistics. The odds of giving birth on the due date is around 4%. Two weeks before and after the probability each day is like a bell curve, with the probability gradually going down to around 3% two weeks before and after. So, on any given day between now and the due date, the chances are between 3-4% that Lucky will arrive. What’s your guess?

4)      I learned that my OB practice doesn’t let you go past 41 weeks. So if I get to that point they will induce. That makes the odds of an 8/15 or 8/16 birth pretty good. (I really hope it doesn’t come to that.)

5)      I’m feeling pretty good overall. For the past two days my belly has been really tight. The best way to describe it is that it feels like I am tightening my abs but I can’t relax them. It is not painful but it can be very uncomfortable at times – especially when combined with the baby’s movement.

6)      I’m starting to see why women get antsy in the final weeks of pregnancy. I’m very fortunate that I don’t feel worse, though.

7)      The Knight is convinced that I’ve “dropped” a bit. I suspect he is correct.

8)      I’m still working out. Just a few light elliptical and walking sessions this week. I just feel better when I’ve exercised.

9)      On Monday I registered the Knight for Ironman Lake Placid 2013. It is something he really wants to do, and I am thrilled that I can support him in this endeavor (it will be his second Ironman). Yes, I’m nervous about how this will play out over the next year, but I know we will make it work.

10)  As for me, I’m considering some race options for the fall/winter but haven’t yet made any plans. We have a couple of friends (including famous Joe) racing the Half Full triathlon so we are probably going to relay the Olympic together. The Knight will swim and bike and I will run.

11)  My office packing is in full swing. I need an entire big box for my shoe collection.

12)   My weight jumped up a bit in the past week or so. I think it is water. My total pregnancy weight gain currently stands at around 32 pounds.

13)  I don’t like any of the pictures we took this morning, but here’s one in case you’re curious about how big I’ve gotten.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele T
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 20:31:34

    You look beautiful Cat. I’m going for a birth date of 8/4. Can’t wait to meet little Lucky. Hugs to you and Oli!!

    Reply

  2. MizYank
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 22:19:54

    Let me know if you need a swimmer for your Olympic relay with the Knight!

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 09:00:09

    You’re looking far too fabulous to be ready to deliver! Are you starting a pool to guess the due date? I’m going with Aug. 12, because that’s my nephew’s birthday.

    Reply

  4. Liz
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 09:48:04

    You look great!

    Reply

  5. Zina
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 12:04:46

    You should love the pictures! You have the pregnancy glow!

    Like the aura/ halo in Renaissance Madonna pictures.

    Reply

  6. Lara
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 11:45:14

    I am really excited for you. You are very close and really never know when it is going to happen. I am not good at guessing in pools, so I won’t guess. However, just to let you know the doctor thought C2 would be late and so did I because at my 40 week appointment there was no movement w/my cervix, etc. and we thought he would be late. He actually was born two days before his due date. Only time will tell with this one in the next 5 weeks. I am excited and can’t wait to meet him. My lil’ one will have a playmate. Yeah!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

