It’s Week 37 already!

What do you know…we have finally arrived at this significant milestone. As of today, Lucky Thumper is considered to be ‘full term.’ This means that while it is good for him continue baking a little while longer, if he were born today he would be probably be just fine and not require any medical assistance or time in the NICU. His lungs are fully developed and all systems are a go. Here are some recent shots. I was in a bit of a goofy mood 🙂

Final Sonogram

On Monday we had our final sonogram. From what I can tell from my reading (yes, on the Internet), the weight estimates they give you are famously inaccurate. That said, the little guy was supposedly measuring about 6 pounds 11 ounces. That is somewhat above average at this point. From this point forward he will likely gain about half a pound per week. Thansfully, it appears that we will not have the big 9-10 pound baby that the Knight has been predicting.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, yes, we confirmed, it is in fact a boy. Whew! I’m actually really excited that he is a little boy and love the adorable clothes we’ve received.

I will admit that the sonogram was not as cool as I was expecting. We did get to see a profile view of his cute face, with his little nose and everything, but that was really the only thing I could clearly make out. Fortunately, the sonographer is much more experienced and she confirmed that everything looked perfect. Hooray!

Hands update

At last week’s appointment, I pleaded my case to my nurse-midwife (Karen). She was caring, but I predicted, she suggested that I purchase a set of wrist braces and try soaking my hands in ice water in the mornings. So I did. Saturday night I wore my braces yet I barely slept because I was in so much pain. I told the Knight it felt like someone had dropped weight plates on my hands AND they were asleep AND I had burned my fingertips. (Yes, it hurts that much.)

We tried a bunch of different things to try to make things better (Tylenol, massages, ice) but there has been very little progress.

I called Karen and she was very nice. She agreed to let me seek the cortisone shots. She even offered me a prescription for Tylenol with Codeine, saying it was safe for the baby. (I’m holding off.)

To make a long story short, I have an appointment tomorrow for the shots and I absolutely cannot wait. As I type this my fingers tips are about 75% numb, I feel a dull ache, and I can barely make a fist with my hands. And it gets much worse at night. I am really hoping for some relief soon. I have thank you notes to write  🙂

Movement

I am feeling a ton of movement and it is really cool. Lucky is going to be an active little baby and I can just picture his little arms and legs moving around. Today the OB told me to start doing kick counts a few times per day. I should feel 10 movements within an hour. On my short drive from the doctor’s office to the metro I counted 7. We’re good.

The Nursery

Oh, the nursery…. For those of you who don’t know, a bunch of my wonderful friends conspired to surprise me and on Saturday I came home to a furnished nursery complete with a crib (purchased by my amazing friends and assembled by the Knight), and a rocking chair (from my Mom). It was fanstastic! Thank you guys!

Surprise!

Laura still needs to do her handiwork and decorate the walls, but the essentials are there. I absolutely love it!

My hospital bag is packed (mostly) and I feel pretty prepared. I am not at that point yet where I am anxious to get the baby out, but if it happens, I am ready. Any day now…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MizYank
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 22:40:35

    So excited for you, and LOVE the nursery!!

    Reply

  2. PDiddy
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 22:44:37

    You look great as always! I like the colors of the nursery. I have had carpal tunnel several times. I actually just had some problems with that last week. So, I know your pain and totally understand how bad it can be. Good luck with the shot. I hope it eases the pain. Can’t wait for Lucky to come!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

