36 weeks – Oh yeah!

Hello my wonderful readers! Can you believe that it is already 36 weeks? As in 36 ÷4 =9. Nine months pregnant! Wow!

This week has been good. I’ve had a few comments along the lines of “You don’t look 36 weeks pregnant” and also “Wow, you’re 36 weeks? You could go any minute.” I know many people who have given birth prior to 37 weeks and I am excited to be nearing the full-term mark.

According to Babycenter, Lucky Thumper is now the size of a crenshaw melon (huh?) and weighs around 6 lbs. He is gaining around an ounce per day.

Okay, a crenshaw melon. I never heard of this before.

I am feeling pretty decent, and mellow, but every now and then I realize that I really could have this baby any time. That’s CRAZY!

I am savoring every day. We are very aware that soon things will change – BIG time. The Knight and I have been having a great time seeing friends and doing fun stuff. And I have been enjoying sleeping in on the weekends.

How’s it going on the metro?

You know, I previously said that people were pretending not to see me on metro – which is a sentiment I have heard from other women. Well, I am happy to say that that has not been an issue for the past two weeks.

I’ve only had to ask for a seat once. The rest of the time people practically leap out of their seats for the big pregnant lady. It is really nice and I am always sure to give a very sincere thank you.

How are the pregnancy symptoms?

Overall, I am still doing pretty well. Sleep is pretty good. The biggest problem right now is my hands. Apparently it is not uncommon to develop carpal tunnel from the swelling of pregnancy. For a while I have been experiencing numbness in my hands during the night. However, it has progressed to numbness all of the time and serious pain at night.

I have an appointment with my midwife today. I have read that the two usual recommendations are wrist braces (which are of questionable effectiveness – and frankly, sound very uncomfortable) and cortisone shots. I am going to beg for  – okay, nicely request – the shots. I need some relief. I am not one to ordinarily jump to the medication solution, but I want relief. NOW.

Have we picked a name yet?

No. During our most recent discussion about names, the Knight said he wants to keep both names as possibilities and decide when he is born. I’m good with that.

How about the weight gain?

Actually, I haven’t really gained any weight since my last post 2 weeks ago. The number of the scale does fluctuate a little depending on how swollen I am, but I’m pretty much holding steady at around 27-28 pounds over pre-pregnancy weight. We’ll see what happens from here.

Anything else?

Unlike my very positive experience taking a childbirth class with Valerie Varley back in June, the free Breastfeeding Basics class I took at theBreastfeedingCenter(onK Street, downtown DC) left me, ummm, wanting. My personal opinion is that while they did pass along some useful information, the class was designed to convince you that you need to take more classes (the paid ones) and hire their lactation consultants. I get that they’re a business, but I found the whole thing overwhelming. I’m hoping that some of my mom friends can help me figure out the answers to the many questions (and fears) the class left me with.

What’s next?

Our final sonogram is on Monday morning. I’m excited! It is supposed to be pretty cool. A lot has happened with Lucky since his 20 week sonogram. I can’t wait to see him! I might post pictures on Monday, so stay tuned.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rakelle
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 07:47:38

    So excited for you and the Knight. Matt and I loved our classes at the Breastfeeding Center, but it sucks that yours wasn’t good. I go to a breastfeeding support group at the VA Hospital Center and it is phenomenal…literally saved me from quitting. Still going strong at 5+ months. I am happy to offer advice and to come over and assist if needed. Congrats again!

    Reply

  2. Sally
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 08:20:28

    I’m so excited for you guys! It’s been fun following your progress. You’ve just been cruising through this! I hope you get some relief from your carpal tunnel symptoms — that sounds painful and downright annoying. As for the breastfeeding classes, I think you’re right that you can get lots of free advice from your mom friends. I’m obviously not a mother, but it seems that new moms have been figuring it out for years and making it work without forking over a lot of money. Can’t wait for the big day!!

    Reply

  3. Liz
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 10:57:23

    It’s hard to believe you’re in the home stretch! Hang in there!

    Reply

  4. Jill K.
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 13:25:26

    Wow! You’re so close.

    I really liked the book Nursing Mother Working Mother by Gayle Pryor. It’s a little out there at times (suggests feeding baby in sling while conducting meetings), but overall I liked it. Also the lactation consultants and the nurses at the hospital were helpful too.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

