34 Weeks and Counting (Down)

It’s week 34! Wow! This all still seems so surreal to me. Every now and then I am caught off guard as I see my reflection in the mirror and realize – holy smokes, I’m pregnant! Pretty cool stuff.

The little guy has stopped doing flip turns and is back to a regular regimen of Tae Bo, yoga, and hiccupping. He is approximately the size of a pineapple. What is most amazing to me is that at a around 4.75 pounds, he is bigger than I was when I was born. Wow!

Babies are considered full term at 37 weeks so we’ve got another 3 weeks to go. The due date is at 40 weeks, which is only 6 weeks away. I’m excited! I can’t wait to see him move those limbs and bounce around in person.

I will now proceed to interview myself. 🙂

So, what’s new?

Well, nothing much. My 34-week OB visit was uneventful. It is such a blessing. After everything I went through, I am especially appreciative of how smoothly the pregnancy is going.

My weight has not really increased over the past couple of weeks. (I’m still about 27 pounds over my pre-pregnancy weight.) I’m not sure why, but I have some theories. It may be because I was a bit more bloated before and some of that has gone away recently. Also, I have been feeling better (thank you Priolsec!) so I’ve been eating a lot more fruit/veggies and fewer starchy carbs.

How’s the heartburn?

So much better! My system still isn’t normal, but I realized yesterday that it had been a couple of days since I popped Tums as a matter of routine. That is great! I have a lot of reflux but I can handle it for 6 more weeks.

Am I sleeping?

Actually, yes. It might be thanks to the Benadryl, but I am getting pretty decent sleep. Knock on wood.

How about names?

We’ve got it narrowed down to two names. We would both be happy with either name. I don’t know if we will pick one or just wait until he is born.

Are we ready?

Well, no. But I’m not really stressing about it. The nursery is painted. It is so pretty. A nice turquoise blue with white trim. My sister is going to decorate it. She said something about monkeys…

We need to install the car seat. Apparently that is something that most people screw up and so it is recommended that you have it done or checked by a professional. It used to be that this was performed at fire stations but now you are supposed to schedule an appointment at certain local police departments. (You can find a location here.) We’ll get to that soon.

I know it is early, but I want to get my hospital bag packed and ready to go. Once it is done, I won’t have to worry about it. Right?

Final thoughts?

I am starting to realize that I need to get ready to transition all of my work stuff. I decided that at the end of my maternity leave I am going to return to my old job with chief counsel. So that means I pretty much need to pack up my entire office before I leave for maternity leave – whenever that is. Oh, and transitioning all of my duties to others is much easier said than done.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PDiddy
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 19:08:07

    Counting down….how exciting!!

    Reply

  2. Caroline
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 06:51:54

    Cat!! SO excited for you and Oli! Six weeks is going to FLY BY and you’ll be meeting lucky thumper in no time!

    Reply

  3. Lara
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 10:07:15

    I am excited for you. I can’t believe I am only about 3 weeks behind you. But, as you know I am finally just starting to acknowledge it, so I am way behind, but oh well. This time is exciting. Try to get as much sleep as possible.

    Reply

  4. Jill K.
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 20:29:05

    Good luck!

    You’re smart to transition early. I was so grumpy my last two weeks or so of work I’m not sure I did a good job transitioning…it’s not nice to ask a 38 wk pregnant lady stupid questions.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

