Quick Update – 29 weeks

We’re now at 29 weeks! 11 weeks until the due date (and 8 until the baby is considered “full term”).

It is butternut squash week. All is well on the baby front.

I think the womb conditions are getting kind of cramped…this week I sensed more stretching out and a little less kicking. I feel like Lucky Thumper is doing yoga or something. Lots of pushing (versus kicking) going on. It is an interesting sensation.

My instinct is to try to push back and shove his little hands and feet back in. For what it’s worth, it doesn’t seem to do much good. He doesn’t listen to reason either.

As those of you who are friends with me on Facebook might have seen, I got some major relief from the oppressive heartburn by taking Zantac this week. What a blessing! It hasn’t totally resolved all of the heartburn, but it is much, much better. My friend Jill had suggested it my doctor made the same suggestion (saying she had two Zantac/Pepcid babies herself). Well, okay then.

The medical visit went well. Everything looks great. My blood pressure was 92/66. These nurses…they take my BP and say, “It’s normal.” I want to respond, “No, it’s not. It’s freakin’ awesome! 92/66 is excellent. How about some credit??” 🙂

This week the OB listened to the heartbeat (sounded great!) and measured my belly. With a tape measure. From my, uh, pubic area to my chest.  I was too busy talking about other stuff to ask about it.

I did ask about the baby’s position. I told the OB that I was trying to guess what limbs I was feeling. She thought I had guessed right that the baby is currently head down, with his little butt hitting a bit below my breast bone. So, he’s facing my spine.

Meanwhile, between the Teva flip-flops (hey, they’re wedges) that I’ve started wearing at work because of my swollen feet and my increasingly casual work wardrobe, I have visions of walking around the office in my nightgown and slippers pretty soon.

Earlier today I sent my boss an email that explained that I need a “reasonable accommodation”

Something that involves a lounge chair (or a recliner). Maybe a masseuse. Good thing your door is closed or I would come in and show you my feet again. They’re HUGE!

We’re heading to Blacksburg this weekend so the night can complete “Mountains of Misery” ride on Sunday. 104 miles of biking and 10,000 feet of climbing! Yikes. Personally, I don’t get the appeal. I’ve never been a strong climber. But he is looking forward to it. I promised not to cry this year (like I did when I saw him appear near the finish line last time).

From the race website:

Don’t worry — or maybe, worry — the route finishes with the 5 kilometer, Category 1 climb to Mountain Lake, with an average grade of 11.9%, and sections up to 16%!

Mountains of Misery Century Elevation Profile

Elevation profile

I hope you all have fun plans that don’t involve the word “misery” or being miserable.  Stay cool!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill K.
    May 30, 2012 @ 10:56:43

    I hope you and your Knight enjoyed the misery!

    I had tons of swelling with Ryan and it went away right after delivery. Like within hours.

    They say protein helps. I used it as an excuse to drink peanut butter milkshakes.

    Reply

    • Catharine
      May 30, 2012 @ 12:13:52

      This is so helpful, Jill. Thank you! I researched protein and swelling in pregnancy and am going to work on increasing my protein intake. PB milkshakes sound awesome!

      Reply

What do you have to say?

