Online Deals (Top Pick: Ebates)

I’ve been meaning to write this post forEVER. Well, really for a few months. I wanted to profile my favorite ways to get online deals. But you all know about Groupon, LivingSocial, etc. Right? That’s old news.

Who doesn’t love getting a good deal? My dad was a deal guy. Actually, he was kind of ridiculous and my whole childhood I vowed not to be like him. He bargained for everything, clipped coupons obsessively, and would drive around to several different supermarkets every week to take advantage of sales. Hey wasn’t “extreme couponing” bad though.

My sister and I lament that we couldn’t go to McDonald’s without a coupon, but he would happily go to the upscale steakhouse across the street because he had a coupon. It didn’t matter that the price of the meal was many times the cost of McDonald’s sans coupon. Nope. He just refused to pay full price for anything.

I’m not that bad. Really. We actually rarely use coupons at the supermarket (commissary). I determined a long time ago that it wasn’t worth my time to clip coupons.  Most of our purchases are fresh food anyhow, for which coupons rarely apply.

However, I am big into deals when it comes to online shopping.  I think I do pretty well in that arena.

Ebates.com

 My biggest and best tip is that you should sign up for Ebates. Now.  I’m pretty surprised that more people don’t know about or use this site.

Signing up and everything about this site is free to you. FREE!

The way it works is that before you make an online purchase you go to Ebates.com, find the store you’re going to purchase from, and click through their link. They also list a lot of available coupons here for extra savings.

It sounds too easy, right? I know. There has to be a catch. But guess what. There isn’t.

I’ve been using ebates since 2006, as my user page tells me. The page also tells me that in the 6 years I’ve been using it, I have received $583 worth of rebates. For real, people!!!

Now, I’ve done a lot of online shopping, but nothing extraordinary. Last week I received one of my quarterly checks. It was for $37.35. I clicked through ebates before I bought our kitchen sink on Overstock.com (3% cash back), a couple of small groupons (3% cash back), protein powder from the Vitamin Shoppe (4% cash back), and before I ordered from Drugstore.com (6% cash back). And that’s just the past few months.

Looking at my history, I’ve received 1-6% back on purchases from Orbitz, the Apple Store, REI, Uncommon Goods, Ann Taylor, and Sephora, eBags, Avon, Macy’s to name a few. Pretty much most sites (except for my favorite online shopping site: Amazon).

The rebate amounts vary. They often run specials where they offer double or extra cash back. They’re doing that now for the holiday weekend. Some stores are offering 13% cash back. It really is great deal that costs you nothing. They email you occasionally, but hey, it is worth it.

If you’re interested in clicking through my link here, I get a small referral bonus. But that’s not why I’m telling you about this. I’m as skeptical as it comes when it comes to these kinds of things but I promise you, as long as you remember to go to ebates before you checkout online, you’ll be a happy camper.

I would also love to hear from you about your best deals.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myironmanjourney
    May 22, 2012 @ 21:56:57

    This is awesome advice, Cat! I didn’t know about Ebates but will definitely sign up. Thanks for passing this along!

    Reply

  2. Carla Runs the World
    May 22, 2012 @ 22:07:15

    I LOVE Ebates! I’ve been a member forever as well. My problem is that I go through phases of remembering to click first, then for months I forget about it… Ugh. Good reminder! I even got a $47 check once, woot!

    Reply

  3. Bibiana
    May 23, 2012 @ 16:05:53

    If you do a lot of online shopping, sign up for Mypoints. Go through their site and earn points for free gift cards. I’ve gotten cards for Old Navy, Panera, and Home Depot.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Online Deals (Top Pick: Ebates) « Being Cat | Where To Find Deals

What do you have to say?

