It’s Week 26 – but who’s counting?

It’s week 26 (can you believe it?) and all is well. Really! Things are great! I guess I’ve fallen off the blogging wagon recently. Oops.

The baby is currently the length of a hothouse cucumber (~14 inches long) this week. He is around 1 3/4 pounds. His kicks are becoming more pronounced and frequent, which is in an adventure for sure.

Time feels like it is flying by.  I’m getting pretty excited to meet the little guy, but will happily wait the 14 weeks until his due date. Grow big and strong, Lucky Thumper!

I’m getting bigger. My weight is right where I’d like it to be. I’m up about 18 pounds. By the way, Joe reports that he is down 22 pounds and that his pants are starting to fall down. I can relate (see below).

The first picture is from last weekend when we visited the Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola (after the wedding). The second picture is from this morning.

In non-baby news, this past weekend the cool stepson married his darling lady. It was a beautiful wedding and we are so happy for them. Here’s a nice shot of the bride and groom.

Aren’t they sweet? Don’t they look happy? Oh, young love!

This week I want to share some of my favorite (and least-favorite) things about pregnancy, other than the run-of-the-mill stuff that pregnant women ordinarily talk about.

My favorite things about pregnancy:

–          Generosity –I am simply blown away by the kindness of my friends and family. Between four wonderful friends: Melody, Kim, Rakelle and Mary I have an entire closet full of gifted or borrowed clothes. I also have a great start on Lucky’s wardrobe  thanks to lots of really great hand me downs. I am also floored by the offers for baby showers. Wow!!! I will NEVER forget how wonderful this feels.

–          Stretchy pants – It isn’t just that they’re generally very comfortable. It is also that they are pretty darn convenient. Need to pee? Just pull your pants down like you are wearing a pair of sweatpants. No zippers or buttons to worry about. Pretty cool. I know, you’re rushing out to buy yourself a pair right now.

–          Sharing the excitement – I guess if you’re a shy person, you might not like this, but I do. Friends, acquaintances, and even perfect strangers just get so excited when they see a baby bump. Everyone wants to talk about it. Even better is that everyone tells you all of the time how great you look. Why thank you very much. It is especially welcome when you’re wondering how your hips and butt got so big.

–          Being a rockstar for staying fit – What used to be a minimum amount of exercise for me, 30 minutes of jogging or the elliptical, seems to qualify for a gold medal these days. I am so proud of myself for getting my workouts done and everyone else seems pretty impressed as well. Of course, the ultimate reward is that the exercise is good for the baby and makes me feel a million times better, too.

–          I’m not chilly – My body temperature is warmer these days, which means I have a little more flexibility in my wardrobe. In other words, I don’t have to layer like I used to. Yes, I realize this won’t be such a neat thing in a few short weeks but for now I’m enjoying it.

–          “Metromuters” are (just a little) more courteous – Although it is really hit or miss, I’ve been really touched by a few kind acts on metro. I had an especially tough morning earlier this week and felt pretty bad by the time I got on the train. A lady who was standing made people get up and give me a seat the moment she noticed me get on the train. She had no idea how appreciated that was. On a related note, I find it so amusing how people will pretend not to see the pregnant lady.

–          Baby registry! – Oh so fun. Need I say more? It is possible that I am getting just a little carried away with this.

My least favorite things about pregnancy:

–          Droopy pants – You know those stretchy maternity pants that I raved about? They really are great, but they do have a tendency to fall down, making things pretty interesting. If you’ve seen me wearing maternity jeans you know what I mean. It must be pretty funny to watch me hike up my pants every five minutes. Or not.

–          Prohibitions– In general, I don’t feel like I have had to make many changes to my habits during pregnancy. I’m not usually much for taking pills, but there’s one medication that I miss: my beloved Sonata. It is a sleeping pill that I could take when I would wake up in the middle of the night. I only used it once or twice per month, but it was really helpful. Now if I wake up and can’t go back to sleep I’m pretty much out of luck.

–          Swollen fingers. I was kind of expected this, but the swelling is inconsistent. Some days I’m fine, but other days I have to really work to take off my rings. The thing is, I never know when it will hit. I went ahead and ordered a fake wedding ring set in a larger size and will start wearing it soon.

–          No sushi! In the scheme of things, this is not a big deal. Yes, I can still eatCalifornia rolls. But I miss my salmon and tuna nigiri. And my spicy tuna rolls. I am actually pretty lucky that my biggest dietary restriction complaint is so limited since I don’t drink coffee and generally don’t drink alcohol. Can you guess what I’m requesting the Knight deliver to me in the hospital?

Only 14 weeks (3.5 months) to go. Holy smokes!

We have our list of names narrowed down to four first names and one middle name. (No, we’re not really naming him Lucky Thumper. Yes, Es, one of them is the last name you suggested.)  🙂

Have a great weekend, everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PDiddy
    May 04, 2012 @ 20:50:30

    Thanks for sharing the updates/pics! You are right, time is flying by so fast! And, people are right you are looking so great. Glad you are feeling great too. Tell Joe, good job. Hope to see you sometime soon.

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    May 04, 2012 @ 21:15:34

    You ARE looking great. Sushi is the first thing I had to eat after I got out of the hospital when Amelia was born, so I can relate! Keep enjoying every minute of this. While I don’t miss being pregnant, I know plenty of women that do & you may end up being one of them. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Zina
    May 05, 2012 @ 13:41:34

    I’m wearing stretchy pants right now. I’d be wearing my pajamas but I haven’t gotten around to showering after crew practice, gross I know.
    Whenever I catch you again, I’ve got something for you.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

