Week 23(ish) update

So, it’s midway though week 23 and it is about time for an update. I know it has been a while. There just hasn’t been much to report and I’ve been keeping busy.

I’m doing great! I am still loving my baby belly. I mean LOVING it. I admit, when no one is looking and I don’t need my hands for anything else, they’re probably resting on my belly.

Oh, and we decided on a name. The Knight has been calling him Thumper since we first heard the heartbeat. But that isn’t much of a first name, so it will be his middle name. Over the weekend I was saying that this would be a lucky kid and we jokingly discussed Lucky being a good name. It seems to have stuck. So, there you have it. Lucky Thumper. Kind of has a nice ring to it, don’t you think 🙂 Haha. We’re such goofballs.

Anyhow, here are some pictures from last week. Now more than ever I believe the old phrase that the “camera adds 10 pounds.” I know you believe me when I say I don’t look this big in person. If anyone wants to support that statement, you know where to add a comment 🙂

 

The Latest

Lots and lots of activity going on in babyland. Last week, when the little guy was doing his nightly Tae Bo workout, the Knight was able to feel most of the movement. It was a pretty awesome experience.

How I’m Feeling

As my friend Kim puts it, I’m in the “sweet spot” of pregnancy. I feel really good. Not symptom-less, but really darn good for being almost 6 months pregnant.

I’m still getting in at least 4-5 good (read: moderate) workouts per week. I try to run at least 2-3 times per week for 30-60 minutes. It’s slow, but I feel great afterwards.  I am aim for two weight lifting sessions per week. I am also really enjoying my once/week pre-natal yoga class.

The indigestion and heartburn still plague me, although less so. I am positively amazed at the power of Tums. Seriously. Love them. I can go from Burpy McOuchie to calm and peaceful in about 30 seconds thanks to those pastel little discs from heaven. Don’t leave home without them!

What’s Next?

Just waiting at this point. 17 weeks or so to go. We need to get moving on the prep side of things: the nursery, the registry, etc. I’ve been reading books and doing lots of research. I welcome input so feel free to send me your suggestions.

We have narrowed down the list of names to 3-4. We have two main criteria on names: 1) We would like a name that can be naturally shortened to a nickname (i.e., Alexander/Alex, Jonathan/John); and 2) We prefer that the name not be one of the most popular baby names. Beyond that, we try to imagine how a little boy with fare with the name, and how we would perceive a resume from say, a lawyer, with that name. It’s a fun exercise and we generally agree on names.

More soon. I promise.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rakelle
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 21:35:27

    You look awesome!! I love the baby belly!! Mila loves the, Sleep Sheep, so you may want to add that to your registry. Hang out in the baby section at Target and the new moms will see your belly and give you tips.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer McRobbie
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 13:38:26

    You look so pretty! And so pregnant! :-). Hee Hee. For the baby registry, just goto the store and start scanning! Anything you decide you don’t need you can return. I love that scanner thing…..SO much fun!

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 21:30:46

    You look fantastic! Go, Mama, with your cute belly! If you find the volume of baby stuff to choose from as overwhelming as I did, Baby Bargains is a really helpful book. They help you understand the essentials and evaluate the best options in the low/medium/high price ranges. Also, we really liked Baby 2 Teen furniture store In Manassas. I’ll think on some other stuff and send some ideas. 🙂

    Reply

What do you have to say?

