Race Report: Scope it Out 5k

Yes, you read the title right. This is a race report.

I know, I know. I shouldn’t be “racing” right now. But I am still running so that’s what I did. I ran. 

History

First, please bear with me for some background about this event. Scope it Out is a local race dedicated to raising awareness of colon cancer. The organization also raises money for colon cancer research and other initiatives.

Did you know that Colon Cancer is the second leading cause of cancer deaths (in both men and women)? Did you know that it is mostly treatable? Colonoscopies save lives! And while the thought is unpleasant, they’re really not that bad. I know. I had one. Feel free to contact me if you want to discuss.

Anyhow, the Scope it Out 5k is the first race I did with Team Z when I joined in 2009. I remember not knowing many people, but being warmly embraced by my new teammates. For starters, it was the day that I met my good friend Holly. We had been emailing each other for a while in relation to her charity Cancer to 5k but had never met in person.

I also remember getting on the metro in my Team Z running top and quickly being accosted, I mean, befriended by this very outgoing and talkative girl named Andrea. She entertained me all the way home. Hi Andrea! She, too, became a good friend.

However, as wonderful as these memories are, what really stands out for me is remembering my friend Shawn Felty. Shawn was fighting colon cancer at the time and put together a team for this race in 2009. He had the biggest team that year and it was a great day for Shawn – and for his many, many friends. Unfortunately, Shawn passed away in December 2010. He is dearly missed!

So, as you can see, this race had some significance for me and I wouldn’t have missed it. There was no question that I would be there to run in Shawn’s honor.

Race Day

For those of you who don’t know, Team Z has a special role in this race. I don’t know who thought of this craziness, but I love it. Fifty Team Zers dressed in red shirts and red beanie hats with the slogan “Catch the Polyp.” We are actually quite a sight.

Joe and me before the race. This will serve as the substitute weight challenge photo for the week.

All of the Polyps!

 

Thanks to Coach Alexis for the pictures

As for the race, there’s not much to tell. I certainly didn’t go out there planning to race. Initially the Knight and I planned to run together. But when I thought about it, it occurred to me that this was a good chance for him to test himself and really go for it. He wasn’t so keen on that idea, especially since I sprang this on him on the drive to the race. Also, he had raced the Rock & Roll Half the week before.

In any case, I had planned to take it easy and run at my usual, comfortable pace. But you know me…probably better than I know me.

We started out together (with Joe and my teammate Stephanie tagging along for the first part). I kind of felt responsible for everyone’s times so I had a little extra fire in me. I was very careful to pay attention to my body and the baby and not hurt myself. I was running faster than I had in a while. I just couldn’t help myself. The energy of the race was getting to me and it felt terrific. (Terrific in an intense heartburn and constant spitting kind of way.)

About halfway through the race I told the Knight that he needed to get going.  He went for it.  Me? Yeah. I kept going. I mean, I let him get ahead of me but then I just kind of found a groove and I pretty much stayed behind him the entire time. My heart and lungs were on fire but my belly and the rest of me felt terrific.

Final result: I finished in 34:50. That is about 7 minutes behind my 2009 time and I’ll take it. I felt great afterwards – and I still do. I ran harder than I have in many, many months and I loved it!

I learned some things: 

  • At this point, it feels like a bit of a struggle to run at *any* pace. When I run 12 minute miles I feel like I’m working hard. But running 10 minute miles on Sunday wasn’t easy either. It really wasn’t that much harder, though. I think running is just challenging now.
  • I am incapable of not racing when surrounded by the energy of a race. I didn’t consciously try to pick people off on Sunday, nor was I trying to stay with the Knight.  It was just subconscious. Boy, I have missed it!
  • Call me crazy, but I love racing and I love running. I get a sense of satisfaction from running that I don’t get from anything else.

I keep hearing that after childbirth you become a faster runner. I’m looking forward to testing that theory. I plan to continue to take it easy and listen to my body over the next 20+ weeks. However, I am very much looking forward to being a running momma. I need to start shopping for a running stroller. Any recommendations?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andrea
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 21:34:14

    Yay! HIIIII right back atcha!!

    Reply

  2. Lara
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 10:38:42

    You do become faster and about 4 mos. after giving birth your Zone 2 is increased greatly. On the jog strollers we love our BOB revolution. If you get a BOB don’t get the Ironman model because the front wheel does not swivel the revolution does. We are huge fans of the BOB. We recently purchased another one (I will leave it at that…)

    Reply

  3. Holly S
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 22:57:34

    Cat, so happy to hear that you raced Scope it Out 5K again this year! I am thankful everyday for Shawn Felty for bringing us together. I’ll never forget standing on the sidelines of the 2008 Army Ten Miler with Shawn, ringing a cowbell while he said to me “Holly, you have to meet my friend Cat, she’s FAST but she’s out here somewhere” Shawn knew all the great ladies!! Then you found me at Scope It Out in March 2009 and I am so happy you were on Team Z, giving us the opportunity to become good friends and Ironman Wonder-Twins! And YOU, not only Sherpa’d two seasons of CANCER to 5K but allowed me to get to know and adore Erika J! She’s forever my favorite track partner!! So many good memories and still an amazing way to ease awareness!

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Apr 04, 2012 @ 09:23:30

      I’m so glad that my post brought you a little cheer. It’s amazing how seemingly ordinary moments turn out to be more significant when we look back on them. I’m so glad I have you in my life – even if you’re far away.

      Reply

What do you have to say?

