Week 20 Update – Thursday Thirteen Style

1. Sing with me… Whoah,  we’re half way there, ohhh, we’re living on a pray-er. The Bon Jovi song keeps swirling around my head. It’s official! 20 weeks is  the pregnancy halfway mark.

I know this is confusing, because many people don’t realize that a full-term pregnancy is 40 weeks, which is more like 10 months than 9.  I’ll leave it at that.

2. We have lots of produce to choose from this week. According to the Bump, the baby is the size of a cantaloupe. Baby Center says it is the length of a banana, and AlphaMom, which I recently discovered, says a 20-week baby is a size of a butternut squash. Ay yay yay!

3.  How pregnant I look depends on what I’m wearing. People keep telling me that I don’t look pregnant. I find it very amusing. I think my reluctance to wear real maternity tops is the cause. However, last night I was wearing a little tank top and underwear and took a picture of myself because I couldn’t believe how pregnant (read: huge) I looked. That picture will not be published (I was in my underwear!!), but trust me, clothes can hide a lot.

4. I went to my first pre-natal yoga class this week. I loved it! It was harder than I expected it to be, which was good for me. The instructor told us that the pigeon pose, which happens to be one of my favorites, is good for sciatica (which is related to my piriformis issues). I think it has been helping.

5. Overall, I feel better than I have in months. Sleep has been so much better over the past week. I’ve been sleeping through the night more and that makes a big difference.

6. I feel like I’ve been going non-stop this week. My mom is doing well and I’ve been spending a lot of time with her. Tonight I have some downtime at the house. Downtime means finishing taxes and doing housework, but that is good for me. Party on.

7. Life is short! Some of you know that my boss in counsel’s office passed away back in December after a brief battle with cancer. Yesterday my supervisor’s husband died from a stroke he suffered last Friday. Both tragedies have been very sudden and sad. If nothing else, these events remind me to cherish every day and not to sweat the small stuff.

8. I am steadily gaining weight. I’m up about two more pounds from last week. My total weight gain is right where it should be at this point but I probably need to have a little less cake (hey, it was for my birthday – my birthday WEEK) and a bit more lowfat milk. It is probably not a good idea to continuing gaining at this rate.  I have an OB appointment next week and I’ll let the professionals decide.

9. I’m not sure about the fate of the weight challenge. Joe’s detail to our office ends this week 😦 and his new office is far away. We might need him to email in his photos. We’ll see.

10. We are nearing the end of the home renovation adventure. The upstairs kitchen was completed two weeks ago. Did I mention that we are thrilled with the final product? The downstairs kitchen just needs countertops, paint, and a few finishing touches. We had a bit of a hard time selecting the downstairs counters but finally picked something. They’ll be installed tomorrow, and hopefully we’ll be completely done with everything by the middle of next week. Then I promise to post pictures of both projects.

11. The next big house project will probably be getting the nursery ready. I am finally  – ummm – adjusting to this whole boy idea. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled. But I’m a little shocked. I have a few ideas for some fun color schemes. I’m just not into pastel blue and green.

12. I havent exactly met my cooking goal of one new recipe per week recently. I am hoping to change that. Springtime makes me crave veggies, which makes me think meatless meals. Mmmmm.

13. I have awesome friends. That’s just what popped into my head when I tried to think of one more thing for this list. I love you guys! Thanks for reading!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rakelle
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 15:14:40

    You’re gonna have a son!! Congratulations! Thanks for the cup–I use it daily.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

