Week 19 Update

Oh boy! What a week! There have been high points and low points this week. Lots going on on the personal front. My mom came to town but has been admitted to the hospital. It looks like she will be fine but it has been a really difficult week.

On the good side of things, it is week 19 and the Little Olive is the size of a mango. Are you thinking what I’m thinking? Are mangoes bigger than sweet potatoes? According to the folks at The Bump they are.

I gained about 2 pounds this week. I have one word to explain this: Pie!

On Saturday, we loaned our house to our friend Bob (aka The Pie Man) for his annual Pi(e) Night Party. [In case you’re wondering, it was his guest list, not ours, so please don’t feel bad if you think I didn’t invite you…It wasn’t our party.] Anyhow, there were around 45 pies and they were just amazing. The benefit of hosting is that we got a lot of leftover pie. Works for me (and the Little Olive)!

We were just getting started with the sweet pies table

Mmmmm...Pie!

Some of the savory pies, including my favorites: Nelson's Crawfish Pie, Bob's Mushroom Strudel, and Bob's Shepherd's Pie

How I’m Feeling

I was telling someone this morning that as far as pregnancy goes, I feel like I’ve got it better than a lot of women, but I think I have it worse that many, too. It is all a small price to pay for this miracle, though. Maybe I’ll feel differently as we get into the hot summer months.

I’m feeling a lot of movement in my belly. Not kicks, per se, but lots of activity. I told Sis that the baby is either a soccer player or a boxer, and she pointed out that she is probably a gymnast like her mommy. Yeah, that makes sense.

Sleep has been horrible this week and I’m really worn out. I’ve also been suffering from piriformis syndrome for the past two months (in other words, I mean it when I say I’ve got a pain in my butt) and that seems to be getting worse. We won’t even get into the intense heartburn that started this week…or the vomiting that has continued. Blah blah blah. Hey, the other day I was feeling bad that I haven’t been writing in my pregnancy journal and then I realized – I have. This is my very public pregnancy journal. So there it is.

I’m really happy be pregnant and incredibly excited about the little life that is growing inside of me. So overall, I’m doing okay. I don’t feel miserable all the time. I just have lots of good moments and a fair share of bad ones. I burp pretty much all day, every day. Tums are my favorite dessert.

I’m still getting in some good quality, moderate workouts, and that is terrific. I start my pre-natal yoga class on Tuesday. Yay!

What’s Next?

If you’ve been reading, you know exactly what’s next. Monday’s the big day: the ultrasound! I’M SO EXCITED!!!

I (think I) have mentally prepared myself for hearing “It’s a girl!” or “It’s a boy!”  I think there are pros and cons to both. Although it is no secret that we think it is a girl, I think it would be really awesome to have a baby Knight running around. One thing is for sure…whatever it is, this kid is going to be so freakin stubborn 🙂

Just for fun, I’d love it if you’d vote:

The Weight Challenge

Unfortunately, Mr. Joe is sick this week. Like really sick. He has a bad strep infection and is not around for pictures. I thought it was incredibly sweet that when he went to the doctor he told the doctor about his pregnant co-worker and made sure that when he does come back to work that he wouldn’t endanger me at all. Isn’t that considerate?

Don’t worry, Joe is fine, and I happen to have some belly pictures to share. The Knight took these over the weekend. I was pretty excited that I am finally sporting a real baby bump. I look pregnant!

I cropped the first two but left the last one in case you want a sneak peek at the new kitchen. (I’ll post about that with more pictures some other time.)

***

It is going to be a busy weekend. Technically, it is my birthday, but with everything that is going on from schedule commitments (like the Knight’s half marathon and the Face of America fundraiser that the Knight organized) and my mom’s illness I’ve decided to reschedule my birthday. I can do that, right?

Please join us!

For those of you who are racing RnR, Shamrock, or anywhere, GOOD LUCK! It is going to be a gorgeous day! I’ll be out there on the RnR course (probably around mile 10-11) ringing my cowbell in my new, updated cheer outfit. Pics to follow. I can’t wait for you to see it! 🙂

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PDiddy
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:49:42

    Hope your mom will be okay. And hope Joe will be okay too. He seems like a great co-worker. But, we knew that alreay by his agreeing to being a regular guest on you blog with all of us looking at your stomachs! LOL. Totally see the baby bump now! Can’t wait to see your new cheer outfit! Please take pics incase I don’t get to see you on the course. You have me verry curious!

    Reply

  2. Caroline
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 21:40:12

    Hope your mom is doing better – sounds like a rough week 😦 But I am glad that pi(e) day was fun for everyone – I’m sorry I missed it, was looking forward to seeing you and your gorgeous new house!! Love the kitchen, BTW! Your baby bump looks adorable. And for whatever reason, my vote is girl! CUTE baby bump btw! ANd happy birthday!!!

    Reply

  3. legloaj
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 00:08:08

    Please keep me posted on how Leslie is doing. And try to have a happy birthday anyway – but reschedule it, too. It has been great to follow yours and the Little Olive’s progress here.

    Marisa, me, and the boys would love to get to see you all soon! Call me.

    John

    Reply

What do you have to say?

