Wow, 17 weeks!

First, I want to sincerely thank you for the comments and emails in response to my last blog post. If you don’t subscribe to the blog via Reader or email, you may have missed it. I did something screwy and it published retroactively (for February 2) and I decided to leave it buried there. Anyhow, you all made me feel really good and I sincerely appreciate it.

So, moving on… It is officially 17 weeks and everything looked perfect at my monthly OB visit on Tuesday. The Little Olive’s heartbeat was thumping away at 152 beats per minute (they did a simple Doppler scan instead of an ultrasound). All my stats are exactly where they should be. Yippee!

Although I did post somewhat of a complaint on Facebook about the waiting time at my OB’s office, I have to say, I think they are worth it. I met a new doctor this week. Well, she’s new to me, but not to the practice. Just like everyone else I’ve met there, she was wonderful. Very caring and very laid back. I had a couple of questions and she answered everything for me. I am just really happy with the practice (Arlington Women’s Center) despite the long waits.

So, according to TheBump.com, where I get those neat fruit pictures, this week the little one is [the size of] an Onion. Really? That’s the best they could do? Not only is an onion not a fruit, but what size is an onion anyhow? I know the sizes of most fruits vary, but an onion? Well, a pregnancy app that I use says that the Little Olive is the size of a pear this week. Doesn’t that seem more appropriate given the past fruits? Whatever.  Here’s your weekly picture:

 

Oh, and Sis Laura texted me to say that she’s had avocado muffins and they’re good. Apparently they’re the thing in Brazil and her Brazilian ex made them for her. Huh. Interesting. So, Lau, what do you think of onion muffins? Yeah, didn’t think so. 🙂

The Latest

I’ve been busy trying to solve my wardrobe issues. This is way more challenging that I expected. On Monday I wore those maternity pants I mentioned before (they are still a bit too big) and they were sliding down. The top I was wearing was riding up, and I was sporting a really classy bare-midriff look while sitting at my desk. It was charming.

I was on the verge of a meltdown on Tuesday when it took me 20+ minutes to get dressed. It gave the expression “I have nothing to wear!” new meaning.

The Knight suggested trying the belly band that Rakelle loaned me and it worked great. But I needed a top to cover it. I tried the large stack of button up shirts that Mary gave me but they were all way too big. I walked into the kitchen to show the Knight the smallest one and declared “I might as well just wear a garbage bag.” He tried to be sweet and gave me a hug, but I could tell he was choking back a laugh.

I tried a maternity t-shirt with a suit jacket over it and I just looked like a slob. I told the Knight “I can’t go to work like this.” He reminded me that I was pregnant and I told him that it would be one thing if I were huge and everyone could see I was pregnant, but that is not the case. I can’t go around the building saying “please excuse my outfit, I’m four months pregnant and nothing fits.” Several outfit changes later, I found something that worked.

Yesterday I wore that cute black and white dress that I wore in the week 13 picture. Except I had thrown away the black tights I wore before because they had a run so I wore nude pantyhose. When I went to the bathroom for the first time yesterday I decided that the look was not work appropriate (the dress was too short and too low cut to be worn to work) and so I put on my sweater wrap and hid under it the rest of the day. Ugh!

Today is better. Last night my sweet friend Kim generously loaned me a bag of clothes that are perfect. Just my style and size – and some are work-appropriate. I am wearing her dress today and am a happy little camper. I’m much more casual that I would usually dress for work, but I think it is fine. Most importantly, I am comfortable.

How I’m feeling?

Generally, I feel pretty good for a pregnant lady. I think I’m at my most energetic point of the pregnancy so far. I’m only sleeping through the night about once or twice per week, but I’m getting used to it. I’ve been making good food choices in the middle of the night. If I get up to go to the bathroom I do what I call the “preemptive cashew strike.” I eat a handful of cashews before I go back to bed. I think it is helping.

I’ve had some interesting sensations in my belly. I figured it was just gas, but it really felt like baby movement. At night, the movement continued and I dreamed that I could see little hands and feet protruding from my belly. Well, apparently it wasn’t my imagination. The OB asked me whether I felt any movement. I told her I had, but I thought it was too early for that. She said that it is not uncommon and that it was probably the baby (and not gas) that I was feeling. How cool is that? It is just the beginning…

What’s Next?

Medically, the next thing is the BIG thing. The 20-week ultrasound to determine gender. The Knight said a couple of weeks ago that he is good with finding out. I gave him some time and space to change his mind, but when a friend asked us the other day whether we were going to find out, he responded matter-of-factly that we would. His tone convinced me that he is really comfortable with this and now I’m pretty excited!

Our appointment is scheduled for March 19th. That’s less than 3 weeks away! Pretty much everyone but two people have said that they are guessing it’s a girl, but I don’t know if that is because I’ve said that we think it’s a girl.

The Weight Challenge

Oh, this is so exciting. On Monday, Joe told me that he was in between belt notches. Super cool. Maybe he needs a belly band, too.

The Agency’s official weight loss challenge is officially over but the Joe/Cat challenge is far from done. To date, Joe reported about a 6 pound weight loss, but you and I both know that the number is not an accurate reflection of what is going on. Joe has added lots of muscle and the difference is visible.

I am at the same weight I was last week, which has me at a total pregnancy weight gain of around 5 pounds (10 pounds up from pre-IVF weight).

Check it out:

Progress!

So, everything is going well. Knock on wood! I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. Thanks for reading (and commenting)!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andrealgeorge@yahoo.com
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 02:28:15

    Maybe one day Joe will smile! Great job guys you both look great 🙂

    Btw… When I first saw you at Cadys I thought you were having a girl and that is even before you said a word! I bet others are the same way! Either boy or girl we will love it all the same 🙂

    Reply

  2. Carla Runs the World
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 03:43:07

    Americans need to understand that avocado is a FRUIT! NOT a vegetable! And it’s delicious mashed with sugar and a bit of lime, and amazing blended with milk and sugar.

    Ok, that is all. Sorry, I read the rest, but I got stuck in the avocado bit.

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Mar 05, 2012 @ 10:47:00

      This is very intriguing. I am totally going to try the sugar and lime idea and the milk and sugar. Mmmmm, love those avocados.

      How do you feel about avocado muffins? 🙂

      (For the record, I knew the avocado is a fruit, but an onion??).

      Reply

What do you have to say?

