Week 14 Update

Hello, hello! It’s another great day! After a bit of a rough stretch, I am very appreciative of the 7 hours of sleep I got last night and my relatively calm stomach today. 

It is officially week 14 and the Little Olive is the size of a lemon! Olives and lemons…makes me think of the Mediterranean! Ahhhhh.The Latest

All is good on the pregnancy front. I would say that the morning sickness phase is pretty much over. I’ve moved on to chronic indigestion – which I’ve decided is preferable to morning sickness so I am happy. The sleep/hypoglycemia issue has improved slightly and now I can get about 6-7 hours/night about 4 nights/week. I never thought that I’d be so happy about what used to be an insufficient amount of sleep. I’m doing okay, though.

My weight has remained steady (I’m about 4 pounds up from my weight before this pregnancy – about 9-10 up from my normal weight). I feel like the weight is shifting around a bit and is becoming more pronounced in my belly. As it should be! I think the running and weight lifting have been helping. I even went back to yoga this week!

I’ve learned some things in the past few days. For example, spicy food is not my friend right now. [Grossness warning!] Leaving aside its effect on indigestion, let’s just say that getting sick after eating jalapenos is an entirely awful experience I would like to avoid from this point forward. Have you ever had jalapeno in your nose? I can tell you it is incredibly unpleasant. 

What’s Next?

Not much to report on next steps. It is a few weeks until my next medical appointment. That is just a check-up. According to the OB calendar from my doctor’s office, they’ll be checking the uterine size. Hmmm. That sounds curious.

We’re still deciding on whether to find out the gender. If you know me at all, you have definitely guessed that I want to know. Like now. I have to admit I am a bit surprised to learn that the Knight would prefer to wait. We’ll figure it out. I really don’t want to “convince” him to find out if he really doesn’t want to. I’m sure I can handle waiting. I love the idea of it. I love when my friends wait and reveal the big news on day of the baby’s birth.

A few people have suggested that I can find out and not tell him. A good idea in theory, but I think he might get a clue when I say, “Honey, I’m not going to tell you what it is, but can you please paint the nursery this beautiful shade of pink?” Even if we went with yellow or green, I don’t believe that I wouldn’t slip out with “she’s kicking!” or something. We can find out at our 20 week ultrasound, which happens to be a couple of days after my birthday.

By the Way (My Kitchen Update)

Spyder Soapstone

In non-pregnancy news, I am really excited about how the kitchen is coming along. We finally picked out our counters (spyder soapstone) and as of last night about half of the cabinets are installed. It is so fabulous coming home to see the progress every night. I will post some pictures this weekend or next week. I have photographed the daily evolution and I can’t wait to see the final product. We should be mostly finished in about a week.

We have been thrilled with our contractor so far. Thanks to Beth for recommending Sabri Eriksen (more about this later). I think it helps that the Knight has been home with the workers most of the time. Everyone appears to be having a good time. I’ve heard stories of the Knight feeding everyone chili and I’ve learned that guys enjoy the green juice he makes daily. Earlier this week I came home and the TV was on the “Mexicana” digital music channel (the Knight’s choice). He reported that everyone enjoyed that selection. How adorable is my husband?

As long as I think of it as upscale camping, I am fine with the chaos. It can be a little frustrating to just try to have a simple bowl of cereal when you have to go to one room for the spoon and bowl, another room for the cereal, and then another for the milk. I wanted a protein shake after my run on Sunday and after searching for what I needed for a few minutes I just gave up and had a banana. (I still haven’t found the immersion blender.)  

It has been pointed out that I shouldn’t complain about any of this since I do in fact have a second kitchen on the lower level. But, in my defense, I tried prepping (not even cooking) two recipes this weekend and it was a bit of an ordeal. [Cue the violins.] I had to closely study each recipe so I could collect the bowls, measuring cups/spoons, knives, cutting boards, and ingredients I needed. Then I carried the entire load downstairs.

I won’t even complain about the lack of counter space down there because I know that some of you work with a lot less. Then, just when I would get into a groove I would realize I forgot the salt. Or the vanilla. Or whatever. I’d have to drag myself back upstairs for the ingredient. And let’s not talk about the fact that we don’t heat the downstairs (yes, our choice) so on Sunday when I made guacamole for the Super Bowl (thanks to Es for this awesome recipe) I did so wearing my coat, hat and scarf. When I was finished I had to wash everything by HAND (gasp!) and then carry it all back upstairs. I know, my life is horribly tough! 🙂 Would you be more sympathetic if I threw in the “but I’m pregnant! line”? Hahaha!

 The Weight Challenge

Due to scheduling issues, the weight challenge update will be delayed until tomorrow. Joe asked me to share that he slacked off a bit last weekend. There was dinner out for his wife’s birthday (sorry ladies, Joe’s spoken for) and then there was the Superbowl. But he’s back on track now. Stay tuned!

 

What do you have to say?

