Hiccups are cool!

Wanna know what is the coolest? Watching your unborn baby hiccup during a sonogram. And watching her/him moving all about, with fully visible hands and feet. You mamas (and papas) know what I mean. Wow!

What’s even better is learning that your little baby looks perfectly healthy. No signs of any major issues. Heart beating away. It was truly amazing!

Here’s the obligatory picture:

Looking a lot more baby-like these days

This morning we had our first trimester screening, or NT scan. I am so happy that everything went well. The doctor said that there is no need for further screenings (CVS or amniocentesis) because everything looked so good. Yay for that!

At 12w5d, the baby is measuring 13w1d. They didn’t think this was as great as we did…but let me tell you. When you have exerpienced a baby (or babies) that are not measuring where they should be, 3 days extra in growth is very, very exciting! Go little olive, go!

This is starting to feel REAL!!!

How I’m feeling

I am feeling really good! My energy is coming back and my congestion is going away. Exercise is going well. My friend Rakelle commented on the Born Again post that her OB says that 90% of pregnancy ailments can be cured by exercise. I can see that!

This weekend my friends noticed my baby bump. I loved it, especially when Es commented that she noticed because I usually have a flat belly. I love you, Es!

Yesterday I pulled off the rubber band pants trick (ask me if you want me to explain) since I was wearing my one pair of pants with a standard button closure. It was such a relief! Why do most Ann Taylor pants have that flat hook thing? It doesn’t work with a rubber band and it is making things very difficult right now.

What’s Next

At this stage, the appointments get farther apart. I don’t go back in for an exam for another 4 weeks. That’s kind of great, but at the same time it doesn’t really provide that information fix that type-A mommies to be might be craving. I guess this is where all of that patience I’ve been practicing gets used. I’m think this is also why some mom’s to be buy home doppler devices. I’m going to try to hold off on this.

By the way

I learned something today. Those expensive prescription prenatal vitamins…they aren’t much better than what you can buy over-the-counter. The doctor said that they sometimes have a little less folic acid, but they are generally sufficient. I hear Trader Joe’s makes a good version that I’ll look into. My current prescription, after insurance, costs about $1 per pill. I’m pretty sure that TJ’s is a lot less expensive. If I need to, I will take some extra folic acid.

Thanks for reading and supporting me! You guys are the best!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rakelle
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 20:59:15

    Such wonderful news!! I couldn’t be happier for you and the Knight! The hiccups are pretty cool and later on you’ll feel them and even see them. 🙂

    Reply

  2. esinva
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 21:18:02

    This is one of the first times I can actually SEE a baby in a sonogram. Usually I’m clueless with these things. BTW, love you too!! (And the Knight)!

    Reply

  3. Andrea
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 23:19:45

    Check out New Chapter Pre-Natal… I was told that I should be taking them if I am of the baby making era… I like them a lot and the reviews were great… If you choose to go with them I have a website I can direct you to where you get credits and $ off on top of being discounted… They also sent me a free subscription to FitPregnancy if you want it… I don’t need it yet!!

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Feb 03, 2012 @ 15:25:21

      Thanks, Ms. Andrea. Can I just say, you are the last person that I expected to get this advice from. It’s cool! I’m definitely interested in checking out an issue of FitPregnancy. Will I see you tomorrow?

      Reply

  4. Julie
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 03:12:58

    Yea for 2nd trimester! Isn’t it fun how cute the sonogram is at this stage? 🙂 I recommend the New Chapter Organics Perfect Pre-natal, too. Never made me nauseous! I also recommend adding a calcium supplement to that to make sure you get enough. RAW Calcium is a good one. You can find both at Whole Foods and they often run coupons for $5 off the RAW brand. Curious to hear how the website stacks up on price for New Chapter. You’re looking great! Such a fun milestone to be outgrowing your pants!!!

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Feb 03, 2012 @ 15:24:24

      Good advice, Mama! Thanks! I’m doing the calcium supplements plus tums per my doctor’s suggestion. I will look into the New Chapter Organics.

      Reply

  5. Bibiana
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 07:51:29

    You can even take Flintstones chewables, if you want. You just need to take 2.

    Reply

  6. Lara
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 10:21:01

    As you know, I am very glad to hear you had great NT scan and happy to hear that you don’t at the moment need any invasive procedures. Oh, I love Flintstone vitamins as well. I used those in my 1st pregnancy when no other prenatal would stay down.

    Reply

  7. Emily
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 12:41:07

    How delightful! And you *sound* so much better too!

    My first pre-natal prescription pills were way expensive, even with insurance. Worse, I broke out in whole-body hives after the first one! So I had 99 pills that I could not take, and could not return to get my money back. I tried to give them to my husband to take, but he took one look at the size of those horse pills and never took any.

    And yeah, hiccups are hilarious! My daughter had them constantly in utero (or at least it seemed that way). And guess what? She’s 21 years old and still hiccups every day! And I still think it is hilarous.

    Reply

  8. Jill K.
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 12:42:33

    Target brand were the only ones I could stomach. I took those and an extra DHA pill.

    In fact I just found a bottle of those in my desk and freaked my boss out a bit I think when he walked in to me holding them up to read the expiration date. Oh well.

    Congrats on the NT scan! The weeks between 12 and 20 always seemed to take forever to me.

    Reply

  9. Jill K.
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 12:44:00

    Oh, and a bella band helped with my Ann Taylor pants.

    Reply

  10. Marisa
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 15:07:01

    My doctor told me to just take the CVS brand prenatals. I had a hard time with the prescription ones becuase they were uncoated and I would gag. (Lovely, I know…) The CVS ones worked great for me.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

