I’m Born Again!

Don’t worry. I’m not going to preach to you. Not about religion, at least.

Recently, my exercise routine has been sporadic at best. Well, not just recently. It has been extremely inconsistent for the past year.

I don’t need to tell you that is VERY unlike me. What can I say? In my defense, the major cause of this inconsistency was medical orders to stop exercising completely (the three weeks after my surgery last April) or to take it very easy (following the numerous embryo transfers and pregnancy scares). And since I always do what I’m told [cough, cough], I listened. Actually, I have been really good about following these orders.

While I am still not back to my usual workout routine, I am exercising at least a few times a week. This is a huge contrast to my self-imposed exercise ban for the preceding month. And let me tell you, the difference is phenomenal. On the days when I exercise, I am much more likely to sleep through the night, have a good appetite for healthy food, and simply feel good.

I am listening to my body. When it says stay on the couch, I stay on the couch. But I do push myself to get down to the gym when I feel the pull to stay at my desk and keep working. That’s different.

Yesterday I did 20 easy minutes on the elliptical followed by 6 sets of light weights (i.e., around 60-70 % of my usual weight). It felt really good! And you know what? I slept well last night. Today I feel great and have that pleasant soreness that reminds me that I had a brief rendezvous with some iron yesterday. Love it!! I almost feel like myself again.

This morning I declared, “I am a born again exerciser! I want to spread my gospel to the world!” Hallelujah!!!

In all seriousness, the difference in how I feel and sleep after exercising is tremendous! It is like a drug. And I’m not talking about a marathon-training run or a P90X training session. I’m talking about small amounts of moderate exercise.

Apart from all of the wacky things that happen to a pregnant body, I totally believe that the colds and crap I’ve been suffering from over the past two months would probably be non-issues had I been sticking with a regular exercise routine (and yeah, a regular sleep schedule). Honestly, before this I think it had been about two years since I was last sick. I don’t regret a single thing, and would do what I did all over again. In some ways, it has helped me appreciate my fitness even more than before.

And my body? Well, I’m pregnant. Who knows how much of my weight gain and body changes are due to the hormonal changes and how much is due to my changed routine. I’m not just talking about my big belly. My butt, thighs, arms, back etc, are all different. Larger and flabbier. It is not the end of the world and this isn’t a complaint. Oh yeah…I’m sure the regular middle-of-the-night snack sessions have played a part as well.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m at peace with all of this. I am prepared for my body to change. I am going to get big. Really big! And I’m looking forward to it. Sure, I would love to be one of those pregnant ladies like my friends Mary and Melody who just looked like their normal selves with a big watermelons under their shirts, but no such luck.

So, what I’m saying is that exercise is the key. I know, I’m preaching to the choir. Most of my readers are my Team Z teammates and already know what I’m talking about. I just want to spread this message. I have seen the light! After a month away from any form of exercise, I am especially appreciative of the benefits of just a little bit of exercise can bring.

Leaving aside the amazing health benefits of exercise, the tangible benefits of how you feel, sleep, and fight off illness are just too huge to ignore. I want to run around screaming and singing about it like those preachers on Sunday morning television. Get off your butt and move, people!!! You can do it! It is worth it!

Okay, I’m done now. Can I get an “Amen!”?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rakelle
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 22:42:39

    According to my OB the cure for 90 percent of pregnancy ailments is exercise.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

