Temporary Insanity

So, yesterday was interesting, huh? I am still laughing about how things unfolded. We had planned to tell the kids about the pregnancy this week (we decided to wait this time since last time well, you know). Then I was going to finally share the news with those who don’t read the blog. I just hadn’t figured out how. But, well, it happened differently and it was so fun.

Last night was interesting, too. I had what I would describe as a brief period of temporary insanity. I woke up a few hours after going to sleep. I felt bad! I was really queasy and my stomach was hurting. I was only about semi-conscious. I reached down and touched my stomach. I felt my larger-than-normal belly and remembered I am pregnant.

My thoughts went something like: pregnant=bad. How did this happen? I don’t like this. I don’t want to be pregnant anymore. This is too much.

Yeah, weird. And it gets better.

Don’t worry, I didn’t do anything stupid. Well, other than share these deranged thoughts with the Knight. I don’t even know what I said. Evidently whatever it was scared him. He tried to comfort me and I supposedly told him not to touch me. My recollection is that I said so nicely, but I don’t think he thought I was being very sweet.

Amazingly, I rolled over and fell back asleep. I told a friend about this when I got to work, but then forgot about all of it until now. I read a blog post by a woman who has a very challenging two month old baby. Apparently, in her sleep deprived state, she decided she was a danger to the baby and started packing her bags. She also freaked out her husband. Everything was fine, though. She got some sleep and is looking into hiring a night nurse.

I think last night’s episode really helped me understand this. You all know how badly I wanted to be pregnant, and how happy I am that I am. But yikes, a little fatigue and nausea and I am all crazy talk. Now it is just an amusing story. History. But wow.

I think I remember my Mom telling me that she had visions of throwing me out the window. It turned out that my nonstop crying was due to a milk allergy. Every time I cried she would try to soothe me with a bottle. you can guess how that went. Poor me. Poor mom.

Has anyone experienced anything thing like this? Hormones and sleep deprivation…look out.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rakelle
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 20:20:57

    I love your blog! You’re actually honest and say the things we all think but often keep to ourselves. So far, I consider pregnancy the toughest job I’ve ever loved. It’s sweet misery in every sense of the term. You hate to complain because you feel blessed, but nonetheless, it’s difficult feeling as though you have the flu every day.

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 11:49:59

      What an incredibly nice comment, Rakelle! Thank you! Very well said, too. “Sweet misery” – I like that. I am very hopeful that I will experience that magical transformation to healthy and energetic sometime very soon.

      Reply

  2. Bobbie
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 22:01:15

    I have no experience with what you’re going through right now, so all I can say is “good luck” 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lara
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 15:38:06

    Too funny! Believe me, and I sure you heard, there are many sleep deprived nights to come especially with a new born. It is worth it, but there definitely times you will be “crazy” for a lack of a better word and you feel it as well.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

