Blah

First, the good news. Today marks 11 weeks of pregnancy and we enter the world of citrus fruits. Yup, it is getting goooood!

The Little Olive has grown a lot between last week (the prune stage) and this. I think that is probably why I feel like I have been put through the ringer. Oy!

At this point, I feel like every day presents a new set of challenges. One day I am totally exhausted, another day I am nauseated, and for the past few days I have been a mucus factory.

My sister sent me this

I know it sounds like I am complaining. Well, I am. It is more about the lack of sleep than the pregnancy (for which I am still so grateful). I know I can handle everything, but some good sleep would really help. 

Last night was terrible. I woke up several times practically choking to death thanks to the post-nasal drip. Let me tell you, it is really traumatic waking up like that. Since my nose was stuffy (stuffed?) I couldn’t breathe though it, and then my throat would get totally clogged and I felt like I was suffocating. I couldn’t get any air. My body reacted with coughing so violent it led to several incidents of vomiting. As you can guess, it meant very little sleep for the Knight and me. Yeah, it was a real blast? I tried sleeping sitting up, but that didn’t go well.  So today I’m a little very cranky, congested, and really tired.

Oh, and while I’m getting this all out, there was more fun other than the sneezing, nose-blowing, coughing and puking last night.  Around 2:30 am I woke up gasping in pain thanks to stabbing pains in my calf. I tried rubbing my leg but it did little to help.

Of course, my tired, paranoid brain starting thinking “blood clot.” I don’t mean to be a hypochondriac, but I researched it and it could be. Or I was just dehydrated. That’s more likely. It could also be stress. You think?

Pregnancy and hormone therapy are two risk factors for deep vein thrombosis. The thing that is confusing me is that my calf still hurts. Is that a positive or a negative sign? On the one hand I don’t want to be the crazy patient running into the doctor for nothing, but on the other hand I think I am stupid for not getting this looked at ASAP. I’m just too exhausted to deal. And I just can’t be rational when I am totally sleep deprived.

Aren’t I Little Ms. Sunshine? Stay with me. I promise I’ll be back to myself soon.

Please send me good sleep vibes. I’ll post the Weight Challenge update and pics tomorrow.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marisa
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 16:36:36

    Here’s what I think: I think that ob’s offices expect that women who are pregnant for the first time, particularly those who have been through fertility treatments, may be a bit more acutely aware and possibly concerned about unexpected or odd things going on. That said, I think it’s worth a call for this (and other bothersome things) to the nurse’s line at your doctor’s office just to check in. If the nurse think it’s a problem, she or her will tell you to come in. One reason I’ve always liked my ob practice is the nurse’s line – I get good quality info and I know that they’ll tell me to come if need be. And, I’m so sorry to hear about the sleep issues! The great, unrelenting joy of pregnancy is that it will throw things at you that you may have never even considered could happen!

    Reply

  2. Rakelle
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 16:37:34

    I completely understand what you’re going through and I swear, it gets easier. The third trimester is even better than the first. So happy for you!!

    Reply

  3. Carrie
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 16:47:26

    I agree with Marisa about calling your doctor’s office. You can also ask the nurse what cold medicines are okay for you to take. Believe it or not, you don’t have to suffer!

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Jan 20, 2012 @ 13:55:20

      I had a scan done and it was normal. My OB’s office has a list of approved meds and I’ve taken a few doses of benadryl and sudafed. Realizing I needed something different, I went to CVS yesterday. I sought the pharmacist’s advice on what to take and he pretty much scared me into not taking anything.

      Reply

  4. Colette
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 18:15:15

    Congratulations on reaching week 11! Love that little olive who is now a lime! I got a lot of leg cramps with Ella. I agree to check in with the doc (hi Rakelle!) but after that, relax, eat and be happy 🙂

    Reply

  5. Colette
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 18:16:28

    And wishing you good sleep vibes 🙂

    Reply

  6. Holly Shoemaker
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 20:02:17

    Cat, go to the DR and have them do an ultrasound on your calf especially if your still in pain. Better to rule it out, because you do have risk factors. You should NEVER have to apologize to a DR for being cautious, especially is it will ease your mind. HUGS!

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Jan 20, 2012 @ 13:53:02

      I listened to you, Holly. I just went in for a scan and they didn’t see a clot. Better safe than sorry! Your experience has definitely inspired me to be proactive.

      Reply

  7. Caroline
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 20:21:36

    I hope you get MUCH more sleep ASAP!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

