I ran. I ate. I slept.

Oh, how happy I am to report that last night I did NOT wake up hungry in the middle of the night. This is the second time in 3 weeks that I have accomplished this feat so I am pretty excited.

Yesterday was a good day. We were supposed to be in NY this weekend visiting my mom and stepfamily, but a combination of events led to our decision to cancel the visit and so we are chilling back at the tree house. The Knight’s training plan called for intervals yesterday and I convinced him that finding a track would be better than running the hills of our neighborhood or running around the local soccer field as he usually does. Well, that was easier said than done.  But after driving around for a half hour we finally found a track that was not locked off.

I decided to join the fun. My plan was to run for at least 10 minutes and then walk for a while. It has been over 2 months since I last ran and over a month since I stopped doing the elliptical and walking. I did do a light workout on Thursday on the arctrainer, which went well

Well,  I got out of the car and holy heck it was cold and windy. Brrrrr! My plan to warm up with a walk was shot. I started jogging immediately to warmup. And I just kept going because I felt great. It was somewhat tough to keep myself at a pace around 1:30 slower than my usual easy pace but it felt good.

I immediately felt a rush of runners high, pride that I was getting back out there, and excitement that I was being the running pregnant lady I always wanted to be.  It was great! I ran a mile, walked a minute, and ran another mile. The second mile was a little more challenging, especially when the Knight passed me and I had to stop myself from trying to catch up. But I kept reminding myself of the need for caution and my desire to enjoy the rest of the day and weekend and not hurt myself (or the little olive).

After the second mile I felt like I could do more but decided the smart thing to do was to walk for a while and then call it quits.  Meanwhile, I noticed the one other person on the track, who kept passing me, and thought she looked like my teammate KH. I then thought thought that not every other runner in Northern VA is a teammate or someone I know. I was thinking, whoever she is, I want to tell her than I really can run faster, but I am choosing to run slowly, and yadda, yadda, yadda. Don’t laugh. You know you understand.

A it turns out,it was KH.  Ha! And she reads my blog so  she already knew all of my excuses for running a at a snails pace. Not that she or anyone but me cares. It was so nice to catch up, albeit briefly.

I felt terrific after the workout. I am proud of myself for getting out there is less than ideal conditions, and very glad i held back and took it easy.

Later, the Knight took my out for one of my favorite meals: Ethiopian. As I have mentioned  before, I love the vegetarian platter. What a beautiful assortment of yumminess all on one (gigantic) plate.

By 8:30 I was absolutely spent. We were going to watch a movie but I couldn’t keep my eyes open so it was bedtime for me. While I did wake up a few times for bathroom breaks (no doubt I am well hydrated) but I did not need to eat. Victory! What a wonderful thing!

I wish I could tell you that I feel rested and super-de-duper today but that’s not quite accurate. I am really tired. Supposedly, it is normal to be tired in the first trimester so there’s no need for concern. I am writing for the warmth and comfort of my luxurious bed.  I am planning to take it easy today and then do another easy run tomorrow (6:30 @ PRR Arlington – be there!).  I’m thinking there is a good argument to be made for having more Ethiopian food tonight. Don’t you think? It is worth a try.

Happy Sunday, everyone!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 20:55:14

    YAAYY for a great run AND a good night’s sleep!!!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

