Double digits, baby!

Hooray! Hooray! Hooray! I’m 10 weeks along. Yippee Skippy!

I’m traveling right now so this post will be short. But don’t worry, I won’t skip the fruit of the week thing.

I had a medical visit (with my practice’s amazing nurse midwife) on Tuesday and everything looked terrific. I almost cried. They did an ultrasound because of their concern about the subchorionic hemorrhage. It is still there but it is shrinking; and I have stopped bleeding. Yay for that!

I was pretty surprised by the conversation we had about exercise. I explained that I am not working out right now because I am paranoid about causing the baby harm. She pretty much said there is no reason why I should not get back to the gym. Of course, I need to listen to my body, but that I can do what I want to do and what feels right. I promise that I will be conservative and careful. I’ve come this far and I’m not going to screw it up now.  

Remember last summer when I was ranting about the seemingly arbitrary heart rate limitations I had been given before? Well, I simply asked if she had any recommendations for HR and she said the old limitations are outdated and I should do what feels good. If I feel bad, stop.  If I feel bad afterwards, don’t do it again. Cool!

Oh, and the baby looked great! The itty bitty heart was beating away (175 bpm), and the Little Olive is growing EXACTLY as much as it/she/he should be (at 9w5d on Tuesday).

At 10 weeks, the baby – who I will continue to call the Little Olive – is now the size of…a prune. Can I just say that this is my least favorite week so far? Is there no other fruit this size that is less ugly?

You’ll have to tune in next week for the weight challenge photo. I’m not in the office right now. I will tell you that I am most definitely feeling larger and I think that Joe is looking a little slimmer. You can be the judge next week.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 13:33:20

    Glad everything is going well! Can’t wait for next week’s Joe pick — they always crack me up!

    Reply

  2. Lara
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 17:11:51

    Oh, you will be surprised the other vegetables and fruit come during the rest of the pregnancy. Just wait!

    Reply

  3. Caroline
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 20:28:48

    Yaaay Cat! This is SUCH great news! Both on the healthy baby AND that exercise is encouraged! Congrats, congrats!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

