What’s your goal?

It has been over 2 weeks now, and I am still waking up in the middle of the night. Strangely, during my sleepless periods I find myself drafting blog posts in my head.

Last night I started thinking about goals. It won’t shock anyone to know that I’m a type-A, goal-oriented person. It is more than that, though. I need goals! It is how I function.

 

Does this make anyone else dizzy?

 

I realize that personalities differ, but I think that there is room in everyone’s life  for goal setting. It can be anything. Knit your first scarf, read a certain number of books, quit a bad habit, or I don’t know, run your first 5k/marathon/triathlon.

My experience has been that for a goal to be truly meaningful and satisfying, progress and the attainment of the goal must be measurable. So, being more sociable is a good goal, but for me, setting a quantitative measure is best. Put a number on it!

I set all kinds of goals for myself. In the past I have aimed for everything from trying a certain number of new recipes in a year and more frequently, I have set athletic or physical goals.

So, this might sound like bragging, which is kind of is, but I’m going to share it anyhow. In early 2005 I decided that I wanted to be able to do a full set of 8 pullups by the end of the year. I set this goal not knowing how many I could actually do, since I only did them on the assisted pullup machine. As it turned out, I tested myself about a month after setting the goal and I could do about 1 ½ good, overhand pullups. Not too shabby, but far from my goal. [I just remembered a funny side note. I also said I wanted to do a full set of dips. When I tested myself, it turned out I could do them, so yay for knocking out that mission.]

To make a long story short, I worked at it. At the time I lifted weights regularly and would work my back once or twice per week. At those workouts I would start by doing as many unassisted pullups as I could do until I reached absolute failure. I measured my progress in quarter increments. In other words, one week I would do 2 ¼ pullups, so I would aim for 2 ½ pullups next time. After that first set I would move to the assisted pullup machine and try to complete two sets of 8 pullups with as little assistance as possible. When I would succeed I would decrease the amount of assistance for the next workout.

Progress was slow, but by September I was up to 5 pullups. That’s when a coworker declared that I wouldn’t be able to do 8 by December. Hahaha! Never tell me I can’t do something. A bet involving a sushi meal was born, and my motivation increased that much more.

On December 30th, the doubting coworker accompanied me to the gym and witnessed my 8 gorgeous, grueling and proud pullups. Yes, I made him pay up with a meal at Kaz Sushi Bistro.

 

The point is, pick something that you want to accomplish and go for it. Don’t expect to get there overnight. Work towards it and be aware of how small steps can get you there. [For the record, I still hate pullups, and at last count could do around 2 unassisted good ones.]

You may have noticed that my current goal is becoming a mommy and I am very focused on that. I can’t help it. It doesn’t help that for the past 6 years or so most of my goals were physical in nature and since the baby-making goal conflicts with that, well, I am kind of super-focused on just that one thing right now.

I’m trying not to turn this blog into a pregnancy journal, but some of that is going to happen naturally. I think I need to take a page out of Arugula Files’ book  and set some culinary goals this year. Stay tuned for that.

What is your current goal? Post it here. (You can even be anonymous)

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 21:11:05

    LOVED this post! You EARNED those bragging rights! I love that you set out to do 8 pullups (I can’t even imagine 8 – I tried doing one a couple weeks ago and couldn’t even get halfway up, so I am in AWE of you right now!) and really worked all year on that and succeeded! I have three goals right now:
    1) Put away the bag of chocolate chips (slowly weaning myself off)
    2) Keep a well-written blog in 2012
    3) Improve my tri times at all distances.

    Reply

  2. Jill K.
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 05:50:19

    I love culinary goals! Mine is to learn to make cheese.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

