I’m 9 weeks!!!

Okay, I admit it. I’m getting excited. 9 weeks is a really good milestone to reach. Someone told me that the risks after 9 weeks drop significantly. So, as much as I was shooting for 12 weeks/second trimester – and I still am – I am totally thrilled to reach this day and have nothing but positive news to report.

As of today we’re about the size of an olive.  Oooh, I wonder how the Knight would feel about calling the bambino “the little olive.” He probably won’t be too wild about that given his distaste for olives.

The Latest

Tuesday was a big day. We started off with a visit to Shady Grove. Not just any visit, but our FINAL visit. Yes, we “graduated.” No, there were no fun hats or tassels.

But that’s not all. We had an ultrasound. It was so cool! They did some image enhancements and gave us some [alien-like] pictures of the Little Olive (LO). We saw the beginnings of the little feet and arms, and the umbilical cord. Way cool! The Knight keeps calling the Little Olive the “Little Thumper” because it had a good strong heartbeat going (175 bpm). Funny.

There are a lot of rumors out there about heart rates at this stage indicating gender. My research suggests that it may be a boy. But maybe not. It could also be a girl. So there you have it.  We’ll all have to wait (but I’m still convinced it is a girl).

I also had my first appointment with my OB’s office on Tuesday. It was just an introductory visit, but it definitely helped things move in the “feeling real” direction.

I debated posting these, but here they are.  This one is the enhanced image. Can you see the head, the little feet, and the umbilical cord? Is that cool?

See what I mean about this being-alien-like?

This picture is the latest traditional ultrasound picture.

LO is upside down - Measuring 8w6d, HR 175 bpm

Compare it to the previous shots.

7 weeks

Weight Challenge
 
Many thanks to my friend Janene for being the official Weight Challenge Photographer and for reminding Joe and me that today is picture day. 🙂
 
 

Weight Challenge - Week 2 (Joe reports that he hasn't lost any actual pounds; I've gained a couple)

How I’m Feeling

I read recently that some pregnant women get irritated when people ask them how they’re feeling. Relax, ladies. People are asking because they care.

You don’t have to ask me. I’ll tell you. I feel good. I feel pregnant!

My nausea (which I don’t called morning sickness b/c that just seems so inaccurate) comes and goes all day. Some days are better than others. There have been a couple of puking incidents, none of which have been in public. I really feel like my symptoms are on the low end of the scale and I’m coping just fine.

Sleep is the big challenge right now. You all know that I am a big fan of sleep. I believe it is the cornerstone of good health. So I’m particularly frustrated that I have not slept through the night in almost 2 weeks. I have gone from waking up once per night to twice on some nights. The sleep intermissions have gotten shorter and it has helped that I have started leaving food (nuts and dried fruit) by the bed. I think I just need to wait this phase out.

What’s Next

My next acupuncture appointment is tonight. Then I have my first real visit at the OB’s office on Tuesday. They’re going to do another ultrasound to check on my subchorionic hemorrhage (aka the blood blister).

I can’t believe there are only 3 weeks left in the first trimester. It is a crazy and exciting time!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PDiddy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 20:56:58

    Keep on keepin’ on little thumper! Also, I have been meaning to comment, that the weight challenge is a great idea and hilarious!

    Reply

  2. Bibiana
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:38:08

    Hate to tell you, but the nights don’t get any easier. Soon, you’ll be getting up every 2 hours to pee. Glad you’re feeling so good!

    Reply

  3. jasmine
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 12:24:01

    Oh, Cat. This is so wonderful. I am glad that things are going so well!!!

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 09:04:09

    I’m so thrilled and excited for you Cat!!!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

