2011 – What a GREAT year!

 

I love “Year in Review” posts. Don’t you? Let’s give it a go.

What a full year it has been. Seriously! I’d have to say that there have been some incredible highs (and yes, a few low lows) this year but all in all, it may have been the best year of my life.

The Highlights

  • Who could forget the biggest milestone? On January 11, 2011 I married the love of my life. He is truly the most incredible man I have ever known. The Knight has shown me that a man can be a strong and protective while also being warm, sweet, caring, sensitive, funny and loving. He is a manly man who hunts, flies planes, builds things, and makes a darn good fire, but also gets a ton of happiness out of rubbing my feet and making me breakfast every morning. I am one lucky girl!

 

Wedded Bliss

 

  • Technically, I got pregnant three times, though I don’t really count the first time. That is pretty great! Even when you’re filled with fear, finding out that you’re pregnant when you really want to be is totally wonderful.
  • Through everything that has happened this year, I have felt more love and support from my amazing friends than I ever could have imagined. I am so happy that I opened up about my struggles and reached out for support. I have the greatest friends I have ever had and I am so truly grateful.
  • We bought a beautiful home and have enjoyed many wonderful times there. In some ways the home buying process was much like the fertility process roller coaster. Eventually, though, things turned out just fine.
Our New House
  • PR’ed. I met my goal of completing a sub 4:30 marathon at the Shamrock Marathon in March. Let’s not talk about the training, or lack thereof.  

The Final Stretch

  • I became a stepmom! I don’t think either of my stepkids refer to me as a “stepmonster” 🙂
 
  • We took an awesome vacation. Ahhh, the two-week transatlantic cruise?

  

Our Fabulous Disney Cruise

  
 
 
 
 The Numbers

As you may know by now, I love numbers. I did some calculating and here are some approximate numbers for 2011:

300+ prenatal vitamins

166 injections

82 blog posts

68 new recipes tried

52 visits to Shady Grove Fertility for monitoring or other testing

23 vials of blood drawn for testing

15 days of sick leave due to fertility treatments and surgery

4 embryos transferred

3 doses of general anesthesia

3 packs of birth control pills

1 pregnancy which is going to last and bring us the wonderful baby we are wishing for!

I have high hopes that 2012 will be an even greater year! Thank you to all of my friends and family for helping to make life so wonderful.  I wish you all the best for a very happy and healthy new year!

We had some fun nights out

We had a blast cheering at the Marine Corps Marathon
We’ve got spirit, yes we do! (Musselman 2011)
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 23:38:46

    Cat!!! I just caught up on your blog and CONGRATS CONGRATS!!! I’m sure Aug 10th can’t get here fast enough – so excited for you! You had an amazing 2011, and I am sure 2012 will top it!!

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:50:16

    Strawberry!!! yeah, I finally caught up with your blog too! what a great year, I am sure 2012 will be even better!

    Reply

  3. Liz
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 13:50:12

    It has been fun reading all about your year :)!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

