Good Needles and Week 8 update

Happy Holidays, my fine readers! I was going to do a Merry Christmas post but, really, I decided that the cheese factor would just be intolerable. I was feeling so happy, fortunate, and blessed that I was even annoying myself with all of my sappiness. I decided to spare you. You’re welcome.

We’re officially at Week 8! Hooray! The baby is now the size of a raspberry.

Needless to say, things are going well. I haven’t had any medical visits since my last report but I can say with certainty that I am definitely still pregnant. The symptoms are going full force so I’d tried something new:

Acupuncture

My friend J read my post about the nausea and emailed me her recommendation. She told me to see the acupuncturist that she saw when she was pregnant at this time last year. I figured it was worth a try. Tuesday morning I had my first ever acupuncture visit and I am here to say: I’m a believer.

After talking about my medical history and current symptoms, Dr. Bill Reddy (he’s an M.D.) placed just four tiny needles on me: one above my knee, one in my wrist, one near my belly and one on my head. I barely felt them at all. Then I listened to relaxing music for 20 minutes while I “baked.” That was it.

I didn’t notice a huge difference immediately, but as the day went on I realized how dramatically different I felt. That day my appetite for salad and fruit was back and I felt like myself again. The Knight commented that I was like a new person. We both realized how much I’ve been dragging the past few weeks.

So yeah, my first acupuncture session was a huge success for me. Unfortunately, a different issue has intensified: insomnia. It is a blood sugar/hypoglycemia issue. I been waking up hungry in the middle of the night.

This may or may not be related to the acupuncture or the return of my appetite. It has been tough. Before you think I’m not eating enough, I will say that is definitely not the problem. Trust me. I have been eating very well (maybe too well) lately.

I actually feel better while I’m eating and immediately afterwards. So, I have been eating. Lots of carbs. Actually, I initially I thought the problem was eating too much before bedtime, but I’ve tried adjusting my diet but I haven’t found the right mix yet. I’ll keep experimenting. I have another acupuncture appointment scheduled for Saturday morning so hopefully we can fix this up. It is worth a try.

The Weight Challenge

Notice I didn’t say weight LOSS challenge. Nope. This isn’t a weight GAIN challenge either. Well, actually, it is kind of both.

Meet my friend Joe. Joe and I work together. Joe is the Ironman who initially bamboozled me into signing up for my first tri. Let’s just say Joe hasn’t been following an athlete’s training regimen or diet for a while now, but he’s trying to be better.

When he told me that was considering signing up for our agency’s weight loss challenge I jokingly said I’d do it too. And then I suggested that we have an opposite challenge. For every pound I gain, he has to lose at least one pound himself. He liked it.

I think it will be fun for us to document our progress, so here’s our starting picture. Thanks to Joe for being a good sport and agreeing to let me blog about this.

20111229-181608.jpg

20111229-181637.jpg

What’s next?

My next ultrasound (and final appointment with Shady Grove – wow!) is Tuesday morning. I’m more excited than nervous – yay! We’re just confirming that the baby is doing well and checking the size/heartbeat. I will then be officially “released” from SG’s care. As it turns out, later than morning I have my first OB appointment. It is starting to seem just a little more real.

We’re still holding our breath, but just a little less intensely right now. Just four weeks left in the first trimester, which is when I’ve decided that it is okay to get excited. Keep those fingers crossed, people!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 21:44:31

    Your weight loss challenge is hilarious! Can’t wait to see your colleague’s progress (and yours!). Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. rohini
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 10:50:21

    Hahahahahahah! That is so great!

    Can’t wait to see you tonight!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

