Whew!!! 7 week update

Yes, we are breathing a sigh of relief this morning. Today’s ultrasound went pretty much perfectly. The Knight and I both noticed the big size difference in the baby between this week and last. The little bambino is measuring just right, and has a nice strong heartbeat (125 bpm).

The bleeding. Well, my friends S & B called it. I have a “Subchorionic hematoma/hemorrhage.” The way I understand it, it is a like a little blood blister on the uterus. That’s not at all correct, but that is what I’m envisioning. The nutshell version: It happens. It is probably fine. We’ll watch it. Here’s a good article that explains it way better than I have.

 Here’s an obligatory pregnancy picture. No I don’t expect you to understand what you’re seeing unless you’re a mom (or dad) yourself. Just trust me, this is the little baby at 7 weeks:

A picture of the week 7 sonogram picture

  So, right now we’re about the size of a blueberry.  

Source: Creature Gorgeous

I’m still pretty queasy. After three near misses yesterday, it is just a matter of time before I puke in public.  I should probably start carrying a barf bag. It’s all good though. I will gladly take the pregnancy symptoms if it means I’m still pregnant  🙂

OMG, look what I just found at morningsicknesshelp.com. They’re called Morning Chicness Bags. Ha! More Christmas gift ideas:

Thank you all for all of the well wishes, good thoughts, and prayers. We’re not out of the woods yet, so keep it coming. Still one month until we finish up the first trimester.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andria
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 13:22:49

    Yay!!! So relieved for you. Keeping my fingers crossed. Have a great holiday and I’ll look forward to more good news in 2012.

    And thanks for such a wonderful birthday lunch yesterday. It was great to talk with you – as always!

    Best,
    Andria

    Reply

  2. Jill K.
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:33:38

    That’s great!

    And sour patch kids or pink starburst always helped me when I felt sick.

    Reply

  3. Rakelle
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:31:21

    Positive thoughts being sent your way!

    Reply

  4. Bibiana
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 07:50:57

    Things that help with morning sickness:

    grape juice
    peppermints
    the scent of real lemons

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 12:27:53

      Thanks! Other than mints (I’m allergic and the smell makes me much sicker than morning sickness) those are great suggestions. 🙂

      Merry Christmas to you and your family!

      Reply

  5. Alisa
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 20:43:17

    I had that but it didn’t actually bleed – just reabsorbed in my body. I probably would have freaked out if I had bled, despite knowing it is common. Glad the blueberry looks good!!!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

