Belated 6 Week Update

As of today we are at 6 weeks and 5 days. Here are a couple of pictures we took on Friday before the ultrasound (6w1d). I’m just a few pounds up from my pre-pregnancy/pre-IVF weight. I’ve actually lost around two pounds in the past few weeks. [No, I have not been trying; I should be gaining weight now!] Go figure. Maybe the lack of sweets cravings I mentioned last week has something to do with that. Or it could be muscle loss since I’ve stopped P90x and lifting.

Week 6 pregnancy pics
The Latest:

The bleeding/spotting is still happening. Grrr. Do we not get a break from this nonsense during the nine lovely months of pregnancy? Apparently not. Fortunately, I’ve heard from a couple of friends who had healthy pregnancies who also experienced this joy, so I am comforted by that.

On the plus side, yesterday afternoon major queasiness set in. Unlike many pregnant women, I am not going to complain about this. I am going to cherish it.

I know I am going to get email about this, but I’ll admit it anyhow. Last night’s dinner consisted of a large bowl of white rice. That’s it. It is all that sounded good to me. I even have an emergency stash of Stouffer’s Mac and Cheese in the freezer, but not even it sounded good. Hopefully this is just the start of some good and entertaining pregnancy symptoms.

What’s Next?

Ultrasound # 2 is scheduled for Thursday morning. It can’t come fast enough. I really wish I had a friend who is a sonographer. They sell home fetal doppler machines that you can use to listen to the baby’s heartbeat, but I think it is too early for that. It might be a good Christmas gift though…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 21:25:45

    Cat – I’m just catching up with you. This is such exciting news!

    Reply

What do you have to say?

