Ultrasound #1

See that title? #1  Do you know what that means? Yes, there will be a #2!

I’m delighted that today there was a little flicker on the screen and it was a nice, strong heartbeat. What an awesome relief !

And that’s not all. I am officially 6w1d (6 weeks, 1 day) into my pregnancy, but the little bambino measured at 6w3d. Small difference, but to me, the fact that the baby is bigger than it needs to be is HUGE!

The doc’s comments were along the lines of ‘things look perfect’ and he has a really good feeling about this one. Yay!

He told us we should come back in two weeks for the next ultrasound and then he’d release us to our OB. Last time they had us come in every week. I don’t know if it is because things looked iffy or because it is a different doctor. I felt kind of uneasy at the thought of waiting that long. I gently mentioned that last time we came in every week and the doc very nicely offered that if I would feel better I could come in next week for another ultrasound. How nice is that!?! I told him that yes, given our history, that would make me feel a lot better and so that’s the plan.

Now look where I can park (in our defense, this was the only spot left in the lot and we were only there for a few minutes)

Oh, one more tidbit of information to share. Our due date is August 10th. (That’s 238 days, or 34 weeks from now. Approximately.)  

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. legloaj
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 13:12:39

    Marisa’s birthday is August 12, just sayin.

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Dec 16, 2011 @ 16:07:37

      Cool! I wonder what it is like to be a summer baby. When you’re a kid, uou don’t get to celebrate your birthday at school like everyone else. When you’re an adult, though, there are so many more fun things to do for your birthday because it is summer!

      Reply

  2. Liz
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 13:14:36

    Yay, I was hoping you’d give us an update! So very glad everything went well!

    Reply

  3. Bibiana
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 07:35:34

    yay!!! Jumping for joy!

    Reply

  4. Julie
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 12:06:23

    How thrilling to hear!!! August babies rule! 😉

    Reply

  5. Holly Shoemaker
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 16:08:24

    We are so happy for you guys! And thrilled to hear that things are looking good for Baby Cat-Knight…strong steady heartbeat…another gymnast/runner/cyclist/triathlete/foodie in progress. 🙂 Much Love from Alabama!

    Reply

  6. Holly Shoemaker
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 16:12:40

    Oh and a LEO, too! Your little one is going to be one tough, dynamic person. With a mid-summer birthday myself (July 26) I can say that Summer Birthdays are fun as kid and a grown-up and seem to be less hectic for parents since you can have a party on your actual birthday because school is out and the weather is nearly always good…at least that was my experience!

    Reply

  7. Jill K.
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 08:01:43

    Hooray! A Leo (I’m Aug. 14th). I’m really happy for you & I’m glad you have a good doctor who wants to make you feel comfortable.

    Reply

  8. Tatie
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 10:33:05

    What joyous news!! You are in my thoughts!! Xo

    Reply

What do you have to say?

