I need to move!

 Ever since last Wednesday, when the nurse left a message that caused me serious concern about the well-being of my little embryo, I have totally avoided exercise except for yesterday’s yoga class. Anyone who knows me or reads this blog can imagine how difficult this is for me. I enjoy exercise and all of its benefits.

At the same time, in some ways not exercising has been easy. It removes something from my to-do list. I don’t need to schedule my trips to the gym or remember to pack my gym clothes. Also, not going to the gym during my lunch break frees me up for other stuff like the occasional lunch out with friends.

 

But enough is enough. I keep weighing the pros and cons in my head, and at this point, I think that a light elliptical workout where I keep my heart rate super-duper low (i.e., under 120 bpm, which is below my zone 1) should not have a negative affect on the baby at this point. I know about all of the positive benefits of exercise during pregnancy and I want them!

 

As for running, I’ll get back to it eventually. I hope to run regularly through my pregnancy. I’d really love to earn this shirt:

 

But until I get the go ahead from my doctors, I can wait. I’m not saying I won’t longingly gaze out the window at runners and cyclists going by, but I will remember that my primary job is to be the incubator. If that means a few more weeks of inactivity or low activity, so be it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bibiana
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 06:38:21

    Get in the pool and just walk. Find a nice old lady to walk with and she can tell you about all her ailments.

    Reply

  2. Rakelle
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 10:13:52

    So happy for you and Oli. How far along are you? I agree with the other comment–walk in the pool or take an aqua Zumba class. Let me know if you ever want to meet up for a walk. I’m doing a 50K in April so I need to keep moving.

    Reply

What do you have to say?

