There is no need…

Well, guys, I have some news to share. There is no longer any need for any further boob grabbing. Not by me, at least. 🙂

The numbers don’t lie, so it is time to just say it. I took the test. And…it is positive.

Yes, I’m pregnant!

Now, I have to admit I am a little more excited than I thought I would be. The fear is there, but there is some happiness, too. Well, a lot of happiness.

I’m really scared, too. But I am managing that. I am trying just to focus on one step at a time.

As a matter of background,  last week was a bit of a struggle. I started spotting and cramping mid-week. Now, at the transfer they tell you that it is normal during the “two-week wait” (between the transfer and the first pregnancy test; also known as the 2WW to those of us who can’t stay off the internet).

However, I thought that such spotting and cramping, usually due to “implantation bleeding” was a symptom that occurred earlier in the process. So yeah, I was a little depressed when that started.

Well, to make a long story short, it can apparently happen late in the 2WW (days 9-12 for me). If you’re interested in more details about this, email me. Now we’ll skip over the detailed discussion of what color it was, and how heavy it was. You’re welcome.

How I’m feeling:

Pregnant! Those boobs I keep talking about – they’re definitely SOOOORRRRE. I noticed this most prominently on Saturday when I went to jog down the stairs. I was wearing a sports bra for heavens sake, but OUCH! I was so stoked! And oh, they’re huge. This is according to the Knight. (I find his comments on this highly entertaining.)

I am still occasionally crampy, but I am not spotting anymore. I am having bouts of insomnia, so I am a little sleepy, but I don’t feel that exhausted.

My sense of smell is seriously heightened at times, but not all the time.

Finally, I don’t know it is hormones or just the crappy weather, but I seriously felt like I was having a hot flash on my commute this morning. I tore off my coat when I got inside, and then took off my suit jacket when I got to my desk. (Of course, my boss walked in a minute later and I was like, oh, hi, I’m just sitting here in a t-shirt, sweating. Don’t mind me.) I couldn’t stand the idea of drinking my morning tea so I skipped it.

The data:

We transferred one frozen embryo on 11/22. The first beta (pregnancy test) was Monday (12/5). The HCg level was 1057. Our second beta was today and the number was 1768.

The expectation is that the beta will double every two days. So it really isn’t ideal. I was initially crushed. So I did what any rational, internet-loving lady would do and I googled. I found lots of encouragement and accounts of women with perfectly healthy pregnancies whose betas didn’t double in 48 hours. I’m trying to stay calm and get through the next two days until I learn the results of the next beta.

Even if we clear that hurdle there is still a risk of miscarriage. I don’t know probability, but it is around 20-30%. It hurts to even think about this. I am so HEALTHY and am I am doing EVERYTHING I can do to give this snowbaby a good home. Believe it or not, I don’t want to research this any further. I am just hoping for the best. So, enough about that.

What’s next:

We have another beta test on Friday. If that looks good, one week later we will have the first OB ultrasound. My recollection is that they don’t necessarily see the heartbeat at the first u/s. Then we’ll have a second ultrasound a week later where they’ll be looking for a nice strong heartbeat. If all goes well (gulp), we will repeat the ultrasound again week later.

Please keep sending those sticky vibes, good thoughts, and prayers. Hoping for a very merry Christmas this year.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 23:21:45

    I have no doubts. You are destined to be a mother.

    Reply

  2. Johanna
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 05:28:56

    Still sending positive thoughts your way!!

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 06:44:15

    Sending all kinds of sticky, restful vibes and prayers your way!! Nestle into your new home, snowbaby!

    Reply

  4. Catharine
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 09:36:58

    You guys are so sweet. Thank you!

    Reply

  5. Liz
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 11:27:16

    Sending lots of love and hope your way! Hope everything will work out!

    Reply

  6. PDiddy
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 21:33:33

    Good News! Wishing you all the best!

    Reply

  7. Bibiana
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 08:16:57

    FYI: I couldn’t stand the smell of coffee during my whole pregnancy with melissa. And I LOVE coffee. So that’s good news!!! Stay positive (in more ways than one.)

    Reply

What do you have to say?

