Friday Fifteen: Holidays and Randomness

I feel like I could do a separate post on each of these, so as usual, they are long. What else is new? 🙂

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! We had such a wonderful thanksgiving! The Knight, Lil’ Sis and I joined our friends for a scrumptious pot-luck meal. It was as terrific! I quickly lapsed into a food coma, which unfortunately ended with me being wide awake in the middle of the night.
  2. Happy Holidays! I am so excited for the holidays. I can’t wait! I have been planning gift lists for months and am already thinking about what to make for Christmas dinner.
  3. Yesterday was the first Thanksgiving in five years where I didn’t participate in the Arlington Turkey Trot. Since we did the transfer on Tuesday, I’m not supposed to run (or do much of anything physical) for 2 weeks. I enjoyed sleeping late but I was hit with FOMO when I saw all of the facebook posts of my friends who participated.
  4. I can already tell this is going to be one busy holiday season! It is early, yet I’m already somewhat overbooked with multiple commitments happening at the same time. For some unknown reason last year was calmer. Fun, fun, fun!
  5. Other than throwing some net lights over bushes, I’ve never had a house decorated on the outside for Christmas. I’m really looking forward to (the Knight) putting up our exterior lights.
  6. I read something recently that said if you don’t want to get sick, don’t touch your face. It said we touch our faces as average of 16 times a day. I started trying to count and determined that I must have a really itchy face. For the past week I’ve been working on not touching my face and it is really hard. I challenge you to give it a try, too.
  7. I’ve been so good about exercising lately. The Knight and I completed 5 ½ weeks of P90x. I love it and I can definitely feel a difference. I don’t really care for the pushups. Or the plyometrics. Or the pullups (which I’ve doubled – 2 is twice as many as 1). But other than that, it is fantastic.
  8. Unfortunately, although they didn’t specifically say I couldn’t do P90x, I’m pretty sure that SG would not approve of me continuing at this point since I am currently limited to yoga, swimming (yuck!) and walking (but not distance). Grrrr. Don’t tell, but today I “walked” on the elliptical (easy, I promise) and yesterday I did most of the P90x video along with the Knight, using extremely light weights.
  9. My current obsession is my fireplace. I have never before had a wood burning fireplace and I think it is the best thing ever! We had a ton of firewood delivered and although the Knight said it should last all winter, at this rate I’m not so sure.
  10. I’m back to planning. You know me, I need to plan something. I’ve got a few things in the works including kitchen renovations and short trips to see family in the next couple of months.
  11. You know what’s nice? The fact that when I see an email pop up from the Knight, I get the same happy feeling I used to get when we first starting dating. I am so in love with that man!
  12. Work today was incredibly quiet. Facebook & email were too. It was a nice change from the usual routine (especially the commute).
  13. I’m more of a cyber Monday girl than Black Friday. I absolutely love deals, but crazy crowds are not my thing. I’d rather spend a little more to avoid the insanity. Other than the 50% off sale at Ann Taylor, I don’t think I’ve ever actually gone to the stores on Black Friday.
  14. I’m immensely grateful and thankful, but I’m purposely not posting lists of why. I think I’ve beat that horse to death this year. It’s all still true, but I am being different 🙂
  15. All of the excitement of Ironman Arizona(last weekend) and Ironman Cozumel (this weekend) has me contemplating doing it again. If only I didn’t have to swim…

 Have a great weekend!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. PDiddy
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 19:51:00

    Hey BeingCat, Just saw the link to your new blog. You know what? I was totally looking for you and Oli at the Arlington Turkey Trot and was kind of bummed when I didn’t see you. But, then I said to myself ofcourse they would not be here. However, not for the reason you mentioned because I hadn’t kept up with that. I totally thought you had abandoned Arlington because you live in Falls Church now!! I just thought it was too far and/or you found something closer to where you live. Anyway, it was a much smaller group this year. But, I still love that race. See you this weekend! PDiddy -I figured I could use a blog alias too! LOL! Hope you know who this is! 😉

    Reply

What do you have to say?

