Yay! Good customer service from Apple

We have all had horrendous customer service experiences. And when they happen, boy, do we like to talk about them. Studies* show that people are far more likely to share the bad experiences than the good. So today I want to share the good.

I recently noticed that the volume button on my iPad was stuck. It is not really a huge deal since there are other ways to change the volume. Nevertheless, I figured it was worth a visit to the Apple store to look into it and ask a couple of lingering questions I had about other things.

As it turns out, my professional, technical diagnosis was spot on. Sure enough, it was stuck. The remedy? A brand new iPad. Yes, brand new. Not refurbished. New. For free!!!

They looked up my serial number, and since my 6-month old iPad was still under warranty I was good to go.

How totally awesome is that? No questions asked. Not, what did you do to it? No one tried to tinker with it. They just gave me a brand new iPad.

Consider me impressed! I knew I loved Apple, but this takes it to a whole new level. Yay Apple!!! 

What good customer service experiences have you had? I hope you don’t have to think too hard.

* I don’t actually have any studies to cite, but I heard this once, so I’m sure it’s true 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jasmine
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 13:01:14

    Just read yelp or any of the review sites of your favorite restaurants, etc to know that people are more likely to post negative reviews than positive ones.

    Reply

    • Catharine
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 11:50:28

      You are right! I want to talk about when things are good. (BTW, if you don’t already know, Yelp has shady business practices…The extort businesses to pay monthly fees.)

      Reply

What do you have to say?

